Maidstone All Saints, Kent Genealogy
Guide to Maidstone All Saints, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Maidstone All Saints, Kent|
Maidstone All Saints Kent
|Poor Law Union||Maidstone|
|Parish registers: 1542|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1576|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Canterbury|
|Location of Archive|
|Kent Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
MAIDSTONE (All Saints), a borough, market town, and parish, having separate jurisdiction, and the head of a union, locally in the hundred of Maidstone, lathe of Aylesford, W division of Kent, of which it is the county town, 8 miles S from Rochester, and 34½ SE by E from London.
Maidstone All Saints is the Ancient Parish church of the county town of Maidstone; see Maidstone Wikipedia. The ancient parish acted as mother church to subsequent parish development and included Loddington within the boundary of the parish; a map of the Maidstone, All Saints with St. Philip and St. Stephen, Tovil parish boundary is available at A church near you.
Loose, Kent was formed as chapelry within the Ancient Parish
The collegiate church was built in 1395 next to the Archbishop's Palace and was one of the largest and widest Parish Churches in England. Memorials include a monument to Sir Jacob Astley, the Royalist Civil War Soldier and a memorial to George Washington's great uncle Lawrence Washington which includes the Stars and Stripes in the family coat of arms.
See Kent Archaeological Society and Edward Hasted 'The town and parish of Maidstone: Churches, religious houses and charities', The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 4 (1798), pp. 308-324 at British History Online and Kent Churches website
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.
The Mansion House (Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Kent TN1 1EP
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Maidstone parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Maidstone Online Parish Records|
|FS PRs||1797-1901 (banns)|
International Genealogical Index may include events from other Maidstone parishes
Male & female 1770-1785 Batch (C042597); 1785-1796 (C042600); 1796-1804 (C042599).
Female only: 1633-1714 (C020953); 1717-1768 (C020943); 1804-1812 (C0425980); 1813-1814 (I005651); 1819-1822 (I005959); 1823-1832 (I005355); 1833-1837 (I005985); 1844-1849 (I005357); 1850-1854 (I005490); 1855-1867 (I005491); 1868-1886 (I005492); 1851-1897 (I005358); 1861-1897 (I005359); 1862-1880 (C013082). 1815-1818 (I005958)
1770-1812 Batch(M020079); 1815-1818 Batch (I005958)
International Genealogical Index
- Maidstone Earl Street Presbyterian 1732-1825 Batch (C068441)
- King Street Baptist 1800-1836 (Births) Batch (C091671)
- Union Street Wesleyan 1796-1837 Batch (C068451)
- Week Street Independent 1749-1837 Batch (C068431)
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images
Census Records[edit | edit source]
FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)
The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Local Family History Centre[edit | edit source]
- FHC Portal This centre has access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access in the centre to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
- Publication of the restricted access images England, Kent, Wills and Probate - FamilySearch Historical Records and England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments - FamilySearch Historical Records means that it is advisable to telephone the centre to reserve a computer if you wish to view these collections using the portal.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 208-216. Date accessed: 26 August 2013.
- 'Coverage of Kent parish baptism records', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.
- 'Coverage of Kent parish marriage records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.
- 'Coverage of Kent parish burial records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.
- 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
- 'England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 13 November 2013.
- Kent Online Parish Clerks, accessed 20 November 2013.
- 'Mid-Kent Marriage Index 1754-1911,' Woodchurch Ancestry Group, accessed 16 January 2014.