Maine, State Archives, World War I (WWI) Grave Cards - FamilySearch Historical Records
|Access the Records|
Maine, State Archives, World War I (WWI) Grave Cards, 1914-1950
|This article describes a collection of records at FamilySearch.org.|
|Flag of Maine|
|Location of Maine|
|Maine State Archives, Augusta, Maine|
- 1 What is in This Collection?
- 2 What Can These Records Tell Me?
- 3 Collection Content
- 4 How Do I Search This Collection?
- 5 What Do I Do Next?
- 6 Citing This Collection
- 7 How Can I Contribute to the FamilySearch Wiki?
What is in This Collection?[edit | edit source]
This collection contains the grave card index of World War I soldiers from the Maine State Archives from 1914 through 1950. Digital images of originals housed at the Maine State Archives in Augusta, Maine.
World War I Grave Cards
- Abbott, Arbor M - Clark, Lawrence.: DGS 5651262
- Clark, Manley L - Fortine, Joseph F. DGS 5651263
- Foshee, Thomas Arnold - Keegan, John: DGS 5651264
- Keegan, Joseph - Morrison, Cecil Leroy: DGS 5651265
- Morrissette, Joseph G - Sinclair, Arnold, DGS 5651266
- Sisk, Percy D - Worster, Pitt H. DGS 5651267
- Worster, Raymond - White, Alfred C.: DGS 5651268
Image Visibility[edit | edit source]
Whenever possible FamilySearch makes images and indexes available for all users. However, rights to view these data are limited by contract and subject to change. Because of this there may be limitations on where and how images and indexes are available or who can see them. Please be aware some collections consist only of partial information indexed from the records and do not contain any images.
For additional information about image restrictions see Restrictions for Viewing Images in FamilySearch Historical Record Collections.
What Can These Records Tell Me?[edit | edit source]
This collection may contain this information:
- Name, and rank of soldier
- Current address
- Date and place of birth
- Enlistment date and place
- Discharge date and branch of service
- Date, location, and cause of death
- Burial date and cemetery location
- Type of marker or stone
- War record
- Next of Kin
Collection Content[edit | edit source]
Sample Images[edit | edit source]
How Do I Search This Collection?[edit | edit source]
Before searching this collection, it is helpful to know the name of the soldier.
Search the Index[edit | edit source]Search by name by visiting the Collection Details Page.
- Fill in the search boxes in the Search Collection section with the information you know
- Click Search to show possible matches
|More images are available in the FamilySearch Catalog at title number Title of catalog record. Some catalog records link to multiple references. In this case, click on a reference to find a camera icon to see images.|
How Do I Analyze the Results?[edit | edit source]
Compare each result from your search with what you know to determine if there is a match. This may require viewing multiple records or images. Keep track of your research in a research log.
What Do I Do Next?[edit | edit source]
When you have located your ancestor’s record, carefully evaluate each piece of information given. The information may also lead you to other records about your ancestors.
I Found the Person I Was Looking For, What Now?[edit | edit source]
- Use the names, ages and residence to find church and census records
- When looking for a person who had a common name, look at all the entries for the name before deciding which is correct
- Search for records of people in the county who shared a surname. These may have been the soldier's parents, uncles, or other relatives.
I Can’t Find the Person I’m Looking For, What Now?[edit | edit source]
- Look for variant spellings of the names. You should also look for nicknames and abbreviated names
- Look for an index. There are often indexes at the beginning of each volume. Local genealogical and historical societies often have indexes to local records
- Search the records of nearby localities
Research Helps[edit | edit source]
The following articles will help you in your research for your family in the state of Maine.
- US Military Basic Search Strategies
- Beginning United States World War I Research
- Maine Guided Research
- Research Tips and Strategies
- Step-by-Step Research
- Beginning Research in United States Military Records
Citing This Collection[edit | edit source]
Citations help you keep track of places you have searched and sources you have found. Identifying your sources helps others find the records you used.
The citation for this collection can be found on the Collection Details Page in the section Citing this Collection.
When looking at a record, the citation can be viewed by clicking the drop-down arrow next to Document Information.
How Can I Contribute to the FamilySearch Wiki?[edit | edit source]
|We welcome user additions to FamilySearch Historical Records wiki articles. We are looking for additional information that will help readers understand the topic and better use the available records. We also need translations for collection titles and images in articles about records written in languages other than English. For specific needs, please visit WikiProject FamilySearch Historical Records/Guidelines for Articles.|
Please follow these guidelines as you make changes. Thank you for any contributions you may provide.