Major Research Centres to Find Manitoba Ancestors (National Institute)

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
 
National Institute for Genealogical StudiesNational Institute for Genealogical Studies.gif

The original content for this article was contributed by The National Institute for Genealogical Studies in June 2012. It is an excerpt from their course Research: Manitoba Ancestors  by Laura Hanowski. The Institute offers over 200 comprehensive genealogy courses for a fee ($).

 

Archives and Libraries[edit | edit source]

Library and Archives Canada (LAC)[edit | edit source]

LAC was created 02 October 2002 to combine the National Archives of Canada and the National Library of Canada in one agency. The records found in both Centres are still found in separate sections on the Internet. Of particular value are the “Online Help” sections that provide background material to particular groups of records and how to use the online records effectively. New records are being added to the database on a continuing basis so it is important to keep checking the site. Throughout this course you will find pointers for how to use particular sections of this website. Note: Some publications will carry the old name of Public Archives of Canada.

Library and Archives Canada (LAC)
395 Wellington Street
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0N3
Genealogy Reference Desk: (613) 996-7458
Toll-free: 1-866-578-7777 (Canada and U.S.A.)

The Canadian Genealogy Centre[edit | edit source]

 The Canadian Genealogy Centre has been developed by the Library and Archives Canada, the Department of Canadian Heritage and other partners to provide electronic access to genealogical and history research in Canada. Detailed descriptions about genealogical collections in the National Archives (NC) At the site there currently is a “Directory of Resources” and “Databases.” It is being updated continuously.

Manitoba - Archives of Manitoba (AM)[edit | edit source]

The Archives of Manitoba houses a vast collection of Manitoba materials. The website is very user friendly. Information about particular collections will be described throughout this book. The Hudson’s Bay Archives is also housed at the same location.

NOTE: On 15 February 2003 the archives changed the name from Provincial Archives of Manitoba (PAM) to the Archives of Manitoba.

Archives of Manitoba (AM)
130-200 Vaughan Street
Winnipeg, Manitoba R3C 1T5
Telephone: (204) 945-3971
Email: archives@gov.mb.ca

Hudson’s Bay Archives[edit | edit source]

The Hudson’s Bay Archives was moved from London, England to Manitoba in 1975. At the website one can learn about the holdings and how to make effective reference inquiries. The online finding aids enable one to learn about the records that are available through interlibrary loan. Genealogists will find the maps and the post records, particularly the journals and the lists of servants, of value to their research.

Guides[edit | edit source]

  • Briggs, Elizabeth and Ann Morton. Biographical Resources at the Hudson’s Bay Company Archives. Volume 1. 1996, Volume 2, 2003. Winnipeg: Westgarth Publishers.
  • Briggs, Elizabeth.Handbook for Reading and Interpreting Old Documents; with examples from The Hudson’s Bay Company Archives. Winnipeg, Manitoba: Manitoba Genealogical Society, 1992.
  • Hudson’s Bay Archives
    130-200 Vaughan Street
    Winnipeg, Manitoba R3C 1T5
    Telephone: (204) 945-4949
    Email: hbca@gov.mb.ca
  • Archives des Soeurs Grises (Grey Nuns)
    151 Despins Street
    Winnipeg, Manitoba R2H 0L7
    Telephone: (204) 235-6412

Have a database with the names of the children who lived at the St. Boniface Orphanage from 1854-1935. Not all were orphans so the most complete records contain the names of the parents, the birthplace and nationality of the child. After 1900 many of the boys were sent to St. Joseph’s Orphanage.

  • Leaf Rapids Community Archives
    P.0. Box 220
    Leaf Rapids, Manitoba R0B 1W0
    Telephone:(204) 473-2742

Manitoba Libraries[edit | edit source]

Manitoba Legislative Library[edit | edit source]

The Legislative Library has an extensive collection of historical and current Manitoba community newspapers published since 1859. Many have been microfilmed and are available through interlibrary loan. It also has a large collection of local histories from communities throughout the province, as well as biography and history scrapbooks of newspaper clippings.

Guide[edit | edit source]

  • Hackett, Christopher, editor. A Bibliography of Manitoba Local History. 2nd edition. Winnipeg: Manitoba Historical Society, 1989.

University Libraries and Archives[edit | edit source]

  • University of Winnipeg Archives
    Rare Book Room
    515 Portage Avenue
    Winnipeg, Manitoba R3B 2E9
    Telephone: (204) 786-9914
  • University of Winnipeg
    Geography Department Map Library
    Room 4CM36
    515 Portage Avenue
    Winnipeg, Manitoba R3B 2E9
    Telephone: (204) 786-9750

University of Manitoba[edit | edit source]

The Elizabeth Dafoe Library has finding aids for collections in the National Archives, census records, the microfiche for the Canadian Institute for Historical Microreproductions (CIHM) and theBibliography of the Prairie Provinces to 1953 (Peel Collection.).

____________________________________________________________

Information in this Wiki page is excerpted from the online course Research: Manitoba Ancestors offered by The National Institute for Genealogical Studies. To learn more about this course or other courses available from the Institute, see our website. We can be contacted at wiki@genealogicalstudies.com

We welcome updates and additions to this Wiki page.

This website requires a paid subscription for full access.

Retrieved from "https://wwwp.familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=Major_Research_Centres_to_Find_Manitoba_Ancestors_(National_Institute)&oldid=4119548"