Malangen Parish, Troms, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Malangen, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Malangen Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/
Diocese
add here
Prosti add here
Len 1599-1660 Nordlandene
Amt 1689-1919 1660-1789: Nordlandene, 1789-1866: Finmmarken, 1866-1919: Tromsø
Fylke 1919-Present Troms
Region add here
Prestegjeld Balsfjord
Kommune add here
Skifteretten add here
Tinglag Balsfjord
Fogderi Senja og Tromsø
Sorenskriveri Malangen
Skipreide add here


Church Records[edit | edit source]

Balsfjord clerical district was established in 1856 with the parishes Balsfjord and Malangen which were separated from Tromsø parish and clerical district in 1856. For earlier records see Tromsø clerical district.

Parish heading list shows the Norwegian headings on the parish records with an English translations for each of the different forms used throughout the records beginning in 1814. Prior to that time the records were kept in a journal format which varies with each parish.

  • Christenings, 1856-1926
  • Confirmations, 1856-1926
  • Banns, 1858-1867, 1879-1910, 1920-1927
  • Marriages, 1856-1926
  • Stillbirths, 1879-1920
  • Burials, 1856-1926
  • Vaccinations, 1858-1867
  • Removals and arrivals, 1857-1886, 1910-1921

Digital images of the church books are online at Digitalarkivet.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

  • The Malangen Clerical district is included in the Tromsø and Balsfjord Clerical district until 1856.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

1690-1866 Tromsø judicial district.

1776-1809 Troms County judicial district.

1697-1824 Troms and Senja deanery.

Farm Book[edit | edit source]

Malangen Bygdebok by N. A. Ytreberg. A history of Malangen in Troms county with the genealogy of some of the people and their farms. A farm name index to this book is found in the following link. File:948.452-M1 H2y - MALANGEN.pdf


Balsfjorden og Malangens historie fram til 1830-åra: fra veidesamfunn til jordbruksbygd by Anders Ole Hauglid. A history of Balsfjord and Malangen in Troms county, Norway from the earliest times to the 1830's. Includes some extracts from various tax lists and the 1769 and 1801 census records.

Farm Names[edit | edit source]

The farm number and name of the farms listed in Oluf Rygh Farm Name Index in about 1900 were as follows:

1 Ansnes, 22 Aspemoen, 22 Aspenes, 28 Aursfjord, 29 Aursfjordbotn,

6 Bakkeby, 21 Bjørkhaug, 28 Bjørkhaug, 21 Bjørkli,

34 Eidet, 18 Eliasnes,

2 Forøen, 21 Furudal,

5 Gammelgaarden,

10 Hamran, 16 Haugen, 25 Havnvaag indre,

31 Keianes, 27 Kirkevik, 13 Kjærvik, 13 Kjærvikaasen, 34 Koris,

7 Labugten, 22 Lakseidet, 24 Lanes, 16 Leirbogen,

35 Maalsnes, 17 Mestervik, 8 Mortenhals,

33 Navaren indre, 14 Nordby, 14 Nordbyvandet, 20 Nordfjordbotn,

32 Perhansanes,

18 Reinveien, 15 Ringjorden,

9 Sand, 10 Sandsvik, 19 Skjaavikøren, 12 Skutvik indre, 11 Skutvikvandet, 13 Smedviken, 4 Spilderbugten, 3 Spildernes, 23 Staalvikbotn, 21 Storskogens Almenning, 15 Storsteinnes, 30 Sørelvmoen,

21 Vasvold,

21 Øverli

Malangen bygdebok: Abrahamheimen, Alfheim, Ansnes, Aspeli, Aspemoen, Aspenes, Astun, Aursfjord, Aursfjordbotn, Aursfjordgård, Aursnes, Ausfjord, Bakkeby, Bakkeeng, Bakkehaug, Bakkehell, Bakkeli, Bakkelund, Bakken, Bakketun, Bekkevoll, Berg, Bergheim, Bergli, Berglid, Berglund, Bergmo, Bergset, Bergsletta, Bergstad, Bergum, Birkelund, Bjørkeng, Bjørkhaug, Bjørkheim, Bjørkli, Bjørklund, Bjørkås, Brattheim, Brattli, Brennvik, Brorstad, Dalheim, Dalset, Eidet, Eidismoen, Eliasnes, Elseheim, Elvebakken, Elvebø, Elvegård, Elvenes, Elverum, Elvestad, Eng, Engen, Engum, Engvoll, Fagerli, Fagertun, Falkenberg, Fjell, Fjellborg, Fjellro, Fjellstad, Fjelltun, Forøy, Fossbakken, Fossli, Fossmo, Fredheim, Friberg, Frogner, Fugleli, Furudal, Gammelgård, Gresnesbukt, Grorud, Grønlid, Grønvoll, Grøtstenli, Gullhaug, Hamnvåg, Hamnvågbakken, Hamran, Handelstedet, Hansgård, Haugen, Haugjord, Hauglund, Haugnes, Haugset, Heggen, Heim, Heimdal, Heimen, Heimro, Heimstad, Henriknes, Holmen, Holt, Hvileng, Høgli, Høgåsen, Jensvoll, Keianes, Kirkevik, Kjerreng, Kjervik, Kjervikåsen, Kjosen, Kjær, Kleivstad, Kobbenes, Koris, Korsvik, Kvannfjell, Kærvik, Labukt, Lakseidet, Lamyr, Lanes, Langbakken, Langnes, Langstrand, Langås, Laskog, Leirbogen, Lieng, Lilehaug, Lilleborg, Lilleeng, Lillevang, Lundberg, Lundemo, Lundvang, Lunli, Lyngmo, Lysbakken, Løksletta, Løvhaug, Løvheim, Masseng, Maurset, Melkild, Mellemlia, Mellom, Mestervik, Mesterøya, Minde, Mo, Moen, Molund, Mortenbukt, Mortenhals, Myrbakk, Myrbakken, Myre, Myreng, Myrhaug, Myrland, Myrli, Myrslett, Myrvang, Myrvold, Møllestad, Målsnes, Mårfjelli, Naustneset, Navaren, Nerdrum, Nergård, Nordby, Nordbynes, Nordbyvatnet, Nordeng, Nordfjordbotn, Nordgård, Nordheim, Nordlund, Nordmo, Nordvang, Nordvik, Nyberg, Nyborg, Nybrott, Nybygget, Nygård, Nyhaug, Nyheim, Nylund, Nymo, Nyrud, Nyset, Nystad,  Nytun, Nyvoll, Oldervik, Olsrud, Opphus, Perhansanes, Plogen, Rabbenes, Reinveien, Rikkero, Ringjord, Rydningen, Ryeng, Rørbakk, Sagelvmo, Sagelvsletta, Sand, Sandberg, Sandmo, Sandsvik, Sandsvikås, Seljehaug, Seljemo, Seter, Setermoen, Skaugum, Skjåvikør, Skog, Skogbakken, Skogeng, Skogli, Skoglund, Skogly, Skogmo, Skogrud, Skogstad, Skrinbergvik, Skutvik, Skutvikvatnet, Skutvikås, Slaktervika, Sletta, Sletteng, Slettmo, Slettvoll, Sløykholmmo, Slåttvika, Smedvika, Småsletta, Solbakken, Solberg, Soleng, Solhaug, Solheim, Solli, Solset, Solstad, Solvang, Sommerbakken, Sommersete, Spilderbukt, Spildernes, Spildra, Stabben, Staffheim, Steinbakken, Steinset, Storbakk, Storbukt, Storlid, Storskogen, Storsteinner, Storvik, Strandheim, Straumsnes, Stålvikbotn, Sæter, Sørelvmo, Sørmarka, Tingstad, Tingvoll, Tofte, Utheim, Vang, Vangen, Vassvoll, Vesterli, Vik, Vikheim, Viklund, Vinje, Voll, Vrangen, Ytreberg, Østerli, Øvergården, Øverli, Øvermo, Øvervoll, Øvringen, Øyen, Åkermo, Ås, Åsen, Åsgård, Åsheim, Åslund 

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

Hauglid, Anders Ole: Balsfjorden og Malangens historie fram til 1830- åra: fra veidesamfunn til jordbruksbygd. Includes some extracts from various tax lists and the 1769 and 1801 census records.

948.452/B1 H2

References[edit | edit source]

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names

-Ytreberg, N. A.: Malangen Bygdebok.  Malangen Bygdebok Komite; F. Bruns Bokhandels Forlag, Trondheim 1943 (?)