Malaysia Cemeteries

Malaysia Wiki Topics
Beginning Research
Research Strategies Record Finder
Record Types
Cemeteries Census Chinese Community Records Church Records Civil Registration Colonial Records Genealogies Directories Emigration & Immigration Genealogies	Land & Property Military Records Notarial Records Occupations Online Records Oral Genealogies Periodicals Probate Records Religious Records School Records Taxation
Malaysia Background
Church History Cultural Groups Gazetteers History	Jurisdictions Languages Maps For Further Reading Websites
Local Research Resources
Archives & Libraries Societies Family History Centers

Malaysia

Cemeteries

• Cemetery records (Kuburan)

Research use: Death information in other records is often meager. Used to distinguish adults and surviving children in parish registers, other family relationships. Chinese and other non-Christian cemeteries are particularly valuable due to a dearth of other records.

Record type: Lists of gravestone burial records, exhumations, sextons records, obituaries.

Time Period: 1600-present.

Content: Name, age, death and burial date and place, birth date and place, sometimes relatives.

Location: District and municipal archives, church archives, Chinese community associations, cemetery offices.

Population coverage: 10%.

Reliability: Good.

List of Cemeteries by States/Negeri

• The Cemeteries of Penang
• The Cemeteries of Kuala Lumpur
• The Cemeteries of Johor
• The Cemeteries of Kedah
• The Cemeteries of Kelantan
• The Cemeteries of Malacca
• The Cemeteries of Negeri Sembilan
• The Cemeteries of Pahang
• The Cemeteries of Perak
• The Cemeteries of Perlis
• The Cemeteries of Sabah
• The Cemeteries of Sarawak
• The Cemeteries of Selangor
• The Cemeteries of Terengganu
• The Cemeteries of Labuan
• The Cemeteries of Putrajaya