Mallerstang, Westmorland Genealogy
Guide to Mallerstang, Westmorland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|County||Westmorland, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||East Ward|
|Registration District||East Ward|
|Parish registers: 1714|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1774|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Carlisle (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Westmorland Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
MALLERSTANG, a chapelry, in the parish of Kirkby-Stephen, East ward and union, county of Westmorland, 3 miles (S. by E.) from Kirkby-Stephen. 
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Mallerstang parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FS = FamilySearch - free|
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free|
|JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - ($)|
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free|
|FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free|
|Mallerstang Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog PRs||1714-1901||1714-1901||1714-1901|
|FS Catalog BTs||1774-1875||1774-1875||1774-1875|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the Kendal Archive Centre.
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Westmorland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 216-221. Date accessed: 02 August 2012.