March, Cambridgeshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to March, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

March, Cambridgeshire
Type Chapelry (England)
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred North Witchford
County Cambridgeshire, England Genealogy
Poor Law Union North Witchford
Registration District North Witchford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1548; For more records see Doddington
Bishop's Transcripts: 1599
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ely
Diocese Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Ely (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cambridgeshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

MARCH, a market-town and chapelry, in the parish of Doddington, union and hundred of North Witchford, Isle of Ely, county of Cambridge, 31 miles N by W from Cambridge, and 80 N from London. The chapel, dedicated to St. Wendreda, a very ancient structure with a spire at the west end, was erected about the year 1343.[1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

March parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS BTs = FamilySearch Bishop's Transcripts - free[2]
March Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS BTs
1599-1797 1599-1797
1599-1797
FS BTs
1828-1848 1829-1836
1828-1848

March parish registers, 1547-1872 at FHL

Bishop's transcripts for March, 1599-1880 at FHL

Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
  • Calvinistic Baptist
  • General Baptist
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Particular Baptist
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Roman Catholic
  • Society of Friends (Quaker)
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

March on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 253-257.Date accessed and adapted: 08 July 2013.
  2. FamilySearch Catalog. Accessed 12 April 2016.