Markham Clinton, Nottinghamshire Genealogy
Guide to Markham Clinton, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
|Markham Clinton, Nottinghamshire|
Markham Clinton (West Markham) All Saints Nottinghamshire
|County||Nottinghamshire, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||East Retford|
|Registration District||East Retford|
|Parish registers: 1651|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1626|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
MARKHAM, WEST, or Markham-Clinton (All Saints), a parish, in the union of East Retford, South Clay division of the wapentake of Bassetlaw, N. division of the county of Nottingham, 1¾ mile (N. W.) from Tuxford with the hamlet of Milton.
West Markham (Market Clinton) All Saints is an Ancient Parish which includes Beavercotes and Milton.
The parish church of All Saints has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building
The Southwell and Nottingham Church History Project have researched the history of Milton Mausoleum
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
From 1837 this parish was within East Retford registration district
Certificates may be obtained for post 1837 events :
The Register Office
County Council Offices
Church records[edit | edit source]
Markham Clinton, Nottinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|Markham Clinton, Nottinghamshire Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives West Markham(Market Clinton) All Saints Baptisms 1653-1902 Marriages 1654-1950 Burials 1654-1902 Bishop's Transcripts 1626-1838
Nottinghamshire County Council
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Markham Clinton
Milton - The Mausoleum. An alphabetical listing of Memorial Inscriptions, inside and outside the Church, giving surname, given name, date of death, and age, dated from 1852. Article in Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.78, pages 35-37, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n
West Markham - All Saints. An alphabetical listing of Memorial Inscriptions, both inside and outside the Church, giving surname, given name, date of death, and age, dated from 1690. Article in Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 78, pages 37-39, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Occupation[edit | edit source]
Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..