Marown, Isle of Man Genealogy
(Redirected from Marown, Isle of Man Genealogy)
Jump to navigation
Jump to search
| Isle of Man Wiki Topics | |
 | |
| Beginning Research | |
| |
| Record Types | |
| Isle of Man Background | |
| Local Research Resources | |
Guide to Marown Parish, Isle of Man ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
History[edit | edit source]
Marown (Manx: Marooney) is an ecclesiastical parish in the Isle of Man. Marown is the only parish in the island with no coastline. Marown is the only parish in the island with no coastline. is in the sheading of Middle but historically it was in the sheading of Glenfaba.
The ancient parish church of St. Runius is situated at Crosby, in the centre of the parish. The original building dates from around 1200 and was enlarged in 1754. The old church was replaced around 1859, when the new church was opened. For more information on Marown see:
Records[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
- ManxBMD.com, civil registration, 1878-2011, index.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
- 1598 – 2009 Isle of Man Parish Registers, 1598-2009 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1598 – 2009 Isle of Man Parish Registers, 1598-2009 at FamilySearch images
Census Records[edit | edit source]
- 1841 Isle of Man Census, index, images, ($).
- 1851 Isle of Man Census, index, images, ($).
- 1861 Isle of Man Census, index, images, ($).
- 1871 Isle of Man Census, index, images, ($).
- 1881 Isle of Man Census, index, images, ($).
- 1891 Isle of Man Census, index, images, ($).
- 1901 Isle of Man Census, index, images, ($).
- 1911 Isle of Man Census, index, images, ($)
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
- The Isle of Man Family History Society, Index to Wills and Decrees, 1576-1960, index, incomplete.
