To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Marshall County, Mississippi Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Marshall County, Mississippi ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Holly Springs
Organized: 9 February 1836
Parent County(s): Chickasaw Cession[1]
Neighboring Counties
Benton  • DeSoto  • Fayette (TN)  • Lafayette  • Shelby (TN)  • Tate  • Union
See County Maps
Courthouse
MississippiMarshallCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Map of Mississippi highlighting Marshall County.svg.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

This county was named for John Marshall. Marshall County is located in the north-central area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Marshall County Courthouse
P.O. Box 219
Holly Springs, MS 38635
Phone: 662-252-4431
Marshall County Website

Clerk Chancery Court has divorce, probate and land records from 1836.[3]

Marshall County, Mississippi Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1 Nov 1912 1812 1 Nov 1912 1812 1836 1836 1810
Statewide registration started in Nov 1912 for births and deaths. General compliance by 1921.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

Some early records are lost.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • 1836 Marshall County was created 9 February 1836 from the Chickasaw Cession.
  • County seat: Holly Springs[5]

For animated maps illustrating Mississippi county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Mississippi County Boundary Maps" (1785-1918) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Marshall County, Mississippi online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Mississippi Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For tips on accessing Marshall County census records online, see: Mississippi Census.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Mississippi denominations, view the Mississippi Church Records wiki page.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Mississippi Land and Property for additional information about early Mississippi land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Marshall County. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Mississippi Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Shelby CountyFayette CountyDeSoto CountyBenton CountyUnion CountyLafayette CountyPanola CountyTate CountyMS MARSHALL.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War

Regiments. Men in Marshall County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Marshall County:

- 1st Regiment, Mississippi Infantry (Johnston's)
Company A - Walker Reserves
Company F - Alcorn Rifles
- 2nd Regiment, Mississippi Partisans (Also known as 2nd Partisan Rangers Cavalry/Ballentine’s)
Company F - Reason’s Company
- 3rd Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry
Company E - Richmond’s Company
- 4th Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry
Company G - McKissack’s Company
Company K - Bowles’ Company, aka McEwen’s Company
- 9th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry (Old)
Company B - Home Guards
Company D - Jeff Davis Rifles
Company F - Quitman Rifle Guards
- 9th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry (New)
Company F - Capt. Keith’s Company
Company K - Capt. Monroe’s Company

World War I

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

These are the newspapers that have been published in Marshall County, according to Chronicling America's US Newspaper Directory:

Democratic Banner. (Holly Springs, Miss.) 1853-18??
Empire Democrat. (Holly Springs, Miss.) 1854-18??
The Guard. (Holly Springs, Miss.) 1842-1846
The Byhalia Journal. (Byhalia, Miss.) 1883-1899
The Light. (Holly Springs, Miss.) 197?-1976
Marshall Democrat. (Holly Springs, Miss.) 1855-18??
Marshall Jeffersonian. (Holly Springs, Miss.) 1851-18??
The Marshall Messenger. (Holly Springs, Miss.) 1976-Current
The North Mississippian. (Holly Springs, Miss.) 18??-18??
Mississippi Palladium. (Holly Springs, Miss.) 1851-1852
The Reporter. (Holly Springs, Miss.) 1891-1893
Marshall County Republican. (Holly Springs, Miss.) 1839-18??
Pigeon Roost News. (Byhalia, Miss.) 1982-Current
South-Reporter. (Holly Springs, Miss.) 1920-Current
The Independent South. (Holly Springs, Miss.) 1861-18??
The Independent South. (Holly Springs, Miss.) 1871-1873
The South. (Holly Springs, Miss.) 1896-1919
The Southern Banner. (Holly Springs, Miss.) 1839-1839
Southern Herald. (Holly Springs, Miss.) 1857-1???
Southern Banner. (Holly Springs, Miss.) 1841-1841

See Chronicling America to find the libraries and institutions that hold copies or microfilm of these newspapers.

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Probate records are held by the Marshall County, Mississippi Genealogy Clerk of Court and are housed at the Marshall County, Mississippi Genealogy Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Mississippi Probate Records, 1781-1930. See the wiki page Mississippi Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Online Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Mississippi tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Mississippi Taxation.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. Mississippi law did not require keeping birth or death records until 1912. Births and deaths are kept by the Mississippi Bureau of Vital Statistics. Marriage records are kept by the county. See also How to order Mississippi Vital Records or order electronically online.

See Mississippi Vital Records for more information on getting Mississippi records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

  • Marshall County Historical Society
    220 E College Ave
    Holly Springs, MS 38635-3122
  • Marshall County Genealogical Society
    109 E. Gholson Avenue
    Holly Springs, MS 38635

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mississippi.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Marshall, Mississippi," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Marshall_County,_Mississippi."
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mississippi.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Marshall County, Mississippi . Page 378-384 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 379-381.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mississippi.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Marshall County, Mississippi," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Marshall_County,_Mississippi, Last accessed 30 September 2019.

To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.