Maui County, Hawaii Genealogy
Guide to Maui County, Hawaii ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Maui County, Hawaii|
Location in the state of Hawaii, United States Genealogy
|Map of the U.S. highlighting Hawaii|
Location of Hawaii in the U.S.
|Address||Maui County Courthouse|
200 S. High Street
Kalana O Maui Bldg, 7th Fl
Wailuku, HI 96793
- 1 Historical Facts
- 2 Resources
- 2.1 Biography
- 2.2 Cemeteries
- 2.3 Census
- 2.4 Church Records
- 2.5 Court Records
- 2.6 Emigration and Immigration
- 2.7 Ethnic, Political or Religious Groups
- 2.8 Genealogy
- 2.9 History
- 2.10 Land and Property
- 2.11 Maps
- 2.12 Migration
- 2.13 Military
- 2.14 Naturalization and Citizenship
- 2.15 Newspapers
- 2.16 Obituaries
- 2.17 Probate
- 2.18 Public Records
- 2.19 Repositories
- 2.20 Description
- 2.21 Taxation
- 2.22 Vital Records
- 2.23 Websites
- 3 Populated Places
- 4 References
Historical Facts[edit | edit source]
- Parent County: created in 1905 from Wailuku (old) county
- County seat: Wailuku 
- Neighboring Islands: Hawaii | Honolulu
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Biography[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|HIGenWeb Archives||FamilySearch Places|
|See Hawaii Cemeteries for more information.|
Census[edit | edit source]
For tips on accessing Maui County, Hawaii Genealogy census records online, see: Hawaii Census.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Hawaii denominations, view the Hawaii Church Records wiki page.
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
- 1874-1898 - Hawaii, Passport Records, 1874-1898 at FamilySearch — index - How to Use this Collection
Ethnic, Political or Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
Genealogy[edit | edit source]
History[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Maui County, Hawaii Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Hawaii Local Histories.
Land and Property[edit | edit source]
- 1845-1909 - Hawaii, Grantor and Grantee Index, 1845-1909 at FamilySearch — index How to Use this Collection
Maps[edit | edit source]
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military[edit | edit source]
World War I[edit | edit source]
- 1917-1919 - Hawaii, World War I Service Records, 1917-1919 at FamilySearch — index and images - How to Use this Collection
World War II[edit | edit source]
- 1940-1945 - Hawaii, World War II Draft Registration Cards,1940-1945 at FamilySearch — index and images - How to Use this Collection
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
- 1838-1991 - Hawaii, Naturalization Records, 1838-1991 at FamilySearch — index - How to Use this Collection
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- Molokai reporter. (Maunaloa, Molokai [Hawaii]) 1969-1970
- The Lanaian. (Lanai City, Lanai [Hawaii]) 1948-1958
- The Lanaian. ([Lanai City, Hawaii) 1978-current
- The Valley isle. (Wailuku, Maui [Hawaii]) 1977-1978
- Valley isle chronicle. (Wailuku, Maui, T.H. [Territory of Hawaii]) 1947-1955
- The Lahaina news. (Lahaina, Maui, Ha.) 1979-current
- Ka Leo o Molokai = The voice of Molokai. (Kaunakakai, Molokai) 1950-1955
- Friendly isle news. (Kaunakakai, Molokai, T.H.) 1955-1957
- The Hana bulletin. (Hana, Maui, Hawaii) 1970-1972
- The Maui reporter. (Wailuku, Hawaii) 1982-1982
- The Lahaina sun. (Lahaina, Maui [Hawaii]) 1970-1973
- The Maui sun. (Wailuku, Maui, Hawaii) 1973-1981
- Molokai times. (Kaunakakai, Molokai [Hawaii]) 1981-current
- Ka Lama Hawaii. (Lahainaluna, Maui) 1834-1841 | Languages: Hawaiian
- You bet. ([Pukoo, Molokai, Hawaii) 1919-192?
- Now is the time. (Wailuku, Maui, Hawaii) 1953-1953 | Languages: English, Iloko
- Maui daily digest. (Wailuku, Maui, Hawaii) 1978-????
- Ka Molokai. (Kaunakakai, HI) 1971-????
- Molokai free press = Na mea hou o Molokai. ([Kaunakakai, Molokai, Hawaii) 1976-????
- Molokaiʻ news. (K'kai [i.e. Kaunakakai], Molokai, HI) 1984-current
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
- 1980-present - Hawaii Obituaries Index ca. 1980-present at FamilySearch— index and images - How to Use this Collection
Probate[edit | edit source]
Public Records[edit | edit source]
Repositories[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County Seat is Wailuku and was Founded 1905. It is located in the islands of Maui, Lanai, Molokai (except for a portion of Molokai that comprises Kalawao County), Kahoolawe, and Molokini.
Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Family History Center[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Libraries
- Hana Hawaii Family History Center
- Kahului Hawaii Family History Center
- Kihei Hawaii Family History Center
- Lahaina Hawaii Family History Center
- Lanai Hawaii Family History Center
- Pukalani/Makawao Hawaii Family History Center
- Molokai Hawaii Family History Center
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Hana Public And School Library
P.O. Box 490
Hana, HI 96713
Kahului Public Library
90 School St.
Kahului, HI 96732
Kihei Public Library
131 South Kihei Rd.
Kihei, HI 96753
Lahaina Public Library
680 Wharf St.
Lahaina, HI 96761
Lanai Public And School Library
Lanai City, HI 96763
Makawao Public Library
1159 Makawao Avenue
Makawao, HI 96768
Molokai Public Library
P.O. Box 395
Kaunakakai, HI 96748
Wailuku Public Library
251 High St.
Wailuku, HI 96793
The Nisei Veterans Memorial Center
PO Box 216
Kahului, HI 96733-6716
Phone: (808) 244-6862
Facebook: The Nisei Veterans Memorial Center
Overlooking Kahului Harbor, just as Kahului Beach Road becomes Lower Main Street.
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Taxation[edit | edit source]
- 1847-1903 - Hawaii, Tax Assessment Rolls, 1847-1903 at FamilySearch — index - How to Use this Collection
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. The State office has some records as early as 1853 up to the present. See the State of Hawaii, Department of Health website for information on acquiring the records and any restrictions.
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1843-1909 - Hawaii, Births and Baptisms, 1843-1909 at FamilySearch — index - How to Use this Collection
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1803-1940 - Hawaii, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1909-1989 - Hawaii, Board of Health, Marriage Record Indexes, 1909-1989 at FamilySearch — index, and some images - How to Use this Collection
Maui Marriage Record Indexes are available online through the Hawaii State Archives from 1842 to 1929. The records come from the ministers who performed the marriages, the agents who issued the licenses, or school teachers who reported marriages in their district. Records of marriages are closed to the public for 75 years after the marriage date.
Each index provides:
- Name of the bride and groom
- Date on the document
- District on the Island of Maui where the event took place
- Book, section, and page where record may be found
Records generated after the year 1895 may also provide parents of the bride/groom, race or ethnicity, age, and place of residence.
Hawaii State Archives Maui Marriage Record Indexes
After discovering your ancestor on a marriage index, check the FamilySearch Catalog to locate a copy of the original certificate on microfilm. The following microfilm can be ordered or viewed online at a FamilySearch Center:
Marriage certificates, licenses, and application, islands of Maui, Lanai, and Molokai, 1842-1900: FHL film 1014413-1014414
Divorce[edit | edit source]
- 1849-1915 - Hawaii, Various Islands, Circuit Court Divorce Records, 1849-1915 at FamilySearch — images - How to Use this Collection
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1841-1925 - Hawaii, Death Records and Death Registers, 1841-1925 at FamilySearch — index - How to Use this Collection
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Maui HAGenWeg
- Maui HIGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county.
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Maui County, Hawaii Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
References[edit | edit source]
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Maui County, Hawaii . Page 170 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 169.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Wikipedia contributors, "Maui County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Maui_County,_Hawaii
- Wikipedia contributors, "Maui County, Hawaii," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Maui_County,_Hawaii, accessed 8 February 2019.