Mayfield, Sussex Genealogy
Guide to Mayfield, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Uckfield|
|Parish registers: 1570|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1666|
|Rural Deanery||South Malling|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of the Archbishop of Canterbury for the Exempt Deanery of South Malling|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
MAYFIELD (St. Dunstan), a parish, in the union of Uckfield, hundred of Loxfield-Camden, rape of Pevensey, E. division of Sussex, 9 miles (E. N. E.) from Uckfield; Here are places of worship for Independents and Wesleyans. A free school, founded in 1749.
Mayfield St Dunstan is an Ancient parish in the Wealden district of East Sussex which included Five Ashes.
A history of St Dunstan and Good Shepherd Five Ashes Mayfiled St Dunstan and Good Shepherd Five Ashes
The Parish Church of St Dunstan has been designated a grade I listed building British listed building
See also Mayfield East Sussex Wikipedia
The Anglican wood boarded Church of the Good Shepherd Five Ashes is within the the Ancient Parish.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
This parish was part of Uckfield registration district from September 1837. see further details To apply for certificates please contact
The Register Office
Phone 01323 464780
Fax 01323 431386
Church records[edit | edit source]
Mayfield, Sussex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free|
|TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)|
|Mayfield, Sussex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Mayfield
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 277-280. Date accessed: 30 September 2013
- 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 30 December 2013.
- Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.
- 'Parish Records,' TheGenealogist, accessed 26 April 2014.
To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.