Merevale, Warwickshire Genealogy
|County||Warwickshire, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Atherstone|
|Parish registers: 1727|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1813|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of the Manor of Merevale|
|Location of Archive|
|Warwickshire County Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
Merevale (St. Mary), is a parish, in the union of Atherstone, partly in the hundred of Sparkenhoe, on the S. division of the county of Leicester, and partly in the Atherstone division of the hundred of Hemlingford, in the N. division of the county of Warwick, it is 1½ mile (W. by S.) from Atherstone. The river Anker bounds that part of the parish which is situated in Leicestershire.
Part of this parish is in Leicestershire. See also Merevale, Leicestershire Genealogy.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Merevale, Warwickshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|AC = Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials (Ancestry) - (£).|
|Merevale, Warwickshire Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 13 November 2013.
- 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1535-1812,', Ancestry, accessed 13 June 2014.
- 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1910,', Ancestry, accessed 1 July 2014.