Merston, Sussex Genealogy
Guide to Merton, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Hundred||Box and Stockbridge|
|Poor Law Union||Westhampnett|
|Parish registers: 1684|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1594|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
MERSTON, a parish, in the union of West Hampnett, hundred of Box and Stockbridge, rape of Chichester, W. division of Sussex, 3 miles (S. E.) from the city of Chichester.
Merston St Giles is an Ancient Parish in the village and civil parish of Merston in the Chichester district of West Sussex The church is closed and the Diocese of Chichester are seeking non-residential occupancy of the building (November 2011) see Merston St Giles
The Sussex Parish Churches history of the church Merston St Giles
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
From 1837 this parish was in the Westhmpnett registration district From 1935 this became part of Chichester registration district
Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex
Centralised Certificates Office
West Sussex Record Office
Phone: 01243 642122
Church records[edit | edit source]
Merston, Sussex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)|
|Merston, Sussex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
|PRTS||1587-1641, 1663-1905||1587-1641, 1663-1901||1593-1641, 1663-1902|
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Merston
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.