Michelmersh, Hampshire Genealogy
Guide to Michelmersh, Hampshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Hundred||Pre-1834 - Buddlesgate; Post-1833 - Thorngate|
|Poor Law Union||Romsey|
|Parish registers: 1558|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1780|
|Probate Court||Pre-1845 - Court of the Peculiar of Michelmersh with Braishfield; Post-1844 - Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester|
|Location of Archive|
|Hampshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
MITCHELMERSH, a village, a parish, and a sub-district, in Romsey district, Hants. The village stands near the Andover and Southampton railway, and near the river Test or Anton, 3¾ miles N by W of Romsey; and has a post office under Romsey. The parish contains also the hamlets of Awbridge and Braishfield..
| This section requires expansion with:
a summary overview of the history of this parish.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Michelmersh parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = FindMyPast - (£)|
|TGEN = The Genealogist - (£)|
|MICHELMERSH PARISH Online Records|
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Genealogy From Periodicals
[edit | edit source]
Extract From Hampshire Pritchard Tree (Whole Dates From 1694). A Pritchard Family tree starting 1824-1988, mainly descendants of James Pritchard and Sarah Tarrant, other parishes mentioned are Braishfield, Longparish, Michelmersh and Timsbury. Article in The Hampshire Family Historian, vol. 32, no. 2 Sept 2005, page 116. FHL Ref 942.27 B2h
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
|This section is empty. You can help by adding to it.|
References[edit | edit source]
- John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870. Date accessed: 10 June 2013.
- 'Over 1.4 million new Hampshire parish records published', Find My Past, accessed 3 October 2013. Date ranges are not clearly identified.
- 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Genealogist, accessed 20 January 2021.