Michigan Census

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Michigan Wiki Topics
Michigan flag.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Michigan Background
Cultural Groups
Local Research Resources
Moderator
The FamilySearch moderator for Michigan is Sallyrose1.

Online Federal Censuses[edit | edit source]

Population Schedules[edit | edit source]

Starting in 1790, federal population schedules were taken every 10 years in the United States. Click here for more information about federal census records.

Michigan became the 26th state admitted to the Union on January 26, 1837. It first appears on the 1800 federal census as Michigan Territory.

United States Federal Censuses with Online Links[edit | edit source]
1800 1810 1820 1830
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
1840 1850 1860 1870
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
1880 1890 1900 1910
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
1920 1930 1940
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com
FamilySearch
Ancestry.com

Non-Population Schedules for Michigan[edit | edit source]

Federal non-population schedules included such things mortality schedules, agriculture schedules, slave schedules, and manufacturing schedules.

Year Type of Census Links
1890 Veterans FamilySearch, Ancestry.com ($)
1880 Defective Ancestry.com ($)
1880 Mortality FamilySearch, Ancestry.com ($)
1880 Industry FamilySearch, Ancestry.com ($)
1880 Agriculture FamilySearch, Ancestry.com ($)
1870 Social Statistics FamilySearch, Ancestry.com ($)
1870 Mortality FamilySearch, Ancestry.com ($)
1870 Industry FamilySearch, Ancestry.com ($)
1870 Agriculture FamilySearch, Ancestry.com ($)
1860 Mortality FamilySearch, Ancestry.com ($)
1860 Industry FamilySearch, Ancestry.com ($)
1860 Agriculture FamilySearch, Ancestry.com ($)
1850 Mortality FamilySearch, Ancestry.com ($)
1850 Industry FamilySearch, Ancestry.com ($)
1850 Agriculture FamilySearch, Ancestry.com ($)
1840 Agriculture at Ancestry.com ($)

Existing and Lost Censuses[edit | edit source]

Online State and Territorial Censuses[edit | edit source]

State censuses are census records that were taken at the state-level rather than at the federal. Often, but not always, a state took their census in ten year increments 5 years from when the Federal Census was taken, such as 1885. State censuses can even serve as substitutes for missing federal censuses. For more information on state censuses, visit United States Census Bureau.

Territorial censuses were taken by the federal government to count the population in federal territories. The government needed to count the population in the territory to see if it could qualify for statehood. For more information on territorial censuses, visit the US Territorial Census page.

Year Type of Census Links
1904 State, statistical only at Ancestry.com ($)
1894 State (select counties), household members at FamilySearch

at Ancestry.com ($) at Michiganology

1884 State, household members at Ancestry.com- statistical only ($)

at Findmypst ($) at Michiganology

1874 State, males over 21 at Michiganology
1864 State, males over 21 at Michiganology
1854 State, males over 21 at Michiganology
1845 State, males over 21 at Michiganology
1845 State, males over 21 at Michiganology
1834 Territorial, head of household at Michiganology
1834 Territorial, head of household at Michiganology
1827 Territorial, (Washtenaw Coutnty), head of household at Michiganology

Why Use the Census?[edit | edit source]

State census records can be one of the easiest ways to locate where an ancestor's family lived and when they lived there. Information varies based on year and location, but information that may be included in a census can include:

  • Name of each person in the family at the time the census was taken
  • Street or Avenue, or number Rural Free Delivery
  • Sex
  • Age
  • Color
  • Nativity
  • Place of birth of this person
  • Place of birth of Father of this person
  • Place of birth of Mother of this person
  • Period of Residence
  • How long a resident of this State (years and months)
  • How long a resident of this enumeration district (years and months)
  • Regular occupation
  • Military service

A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:

Michigan 1894 Census - FamilySearch Historical Records