Middleton, Lancashire Genealogy
Guide to Middleton, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
View a List of Chapelries within Middleton Parish.
| Middleton, Lancashire | |
|---|---|
 | |
| Type | England Jurisdictions |
| Civil Jurisdictions | |
| Hundred | Salford |
| County | Lancashire, England Genealogy |
| Poor Law Union | Oldham |
| Registration District | Bolton; Bury; Oldham |
| Records begin | |
| Parish registers: 1541; Separate registers exist for Great Lever beginning 1851 | |
| Bishop's Transcripts: 1609 | |
| Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions | |
| Rural Deanery | Bury |
| Diocese | Manchester |
| Legal Jurisdictions | |
| Probate Court | Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory) |
| Location of Archive | |
| Lancashire Archives | |
Contents
Parish History[edit | edit source]
MIDDLETON St. Leonard, a market-town and a parish, in the hundred of Salford, S. division of Lancashire; containing, with the chapelries of Ainsworth and Ashworth, and the townships of Birtle cum Bamford, Hopwood, Great Lever, Pilsworth, and Thornham, is 6 miles north by northeast from Manchester.
At Ainsworth, Ashworth, Birch, and Birtle Thornham, are separate incumbencies [chapels of ease with parish registers--all of which lay within the boundary of St Leonard Middleton Parish]. There are places of worship for Independents, Primitive Methodists, Wesleyans, the Countess of Huntingdon's Connexion, and Swedenborgians.[1]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two outstanding Internet sites with indexes to vital births, marriages and deaths for Lancashire and England in general:
- FreeBMD - from 1837 to 1940; later (part.) with free B M Ds for the county and country
- Lancashire BMD - Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths; and provides the parish or place of marriages
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Online Records
- 1538 - 1910 England, Lancashire, Parish Registers 1538-1910 at FamilySearch — index
- 1603 - 1910 England, Lancashire, Cheshire, Yorkshire, Parish Registers, 1603-1910 at FamilySearch — index and images
Middleton St Leonard's parish registers and those registers of many of its smaller chapelries lying within its boundaries have been transcribed and are displayed online at the web sites listed below and for the following ranges of years:
| AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£) | |||||
| FMP = findmypast (£) | |||||
| FREG = FreeReg | |||||
| FS = FamilySearch.org | |||||
| LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk | |||||
| LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk |
| MIDDLETON ST LEONARD PARISH (1541) Indexes | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| AC | 1541-1752 | 1541-1752 | 1541-1752 | ||
| AC | 1541-1812 | 1541-1812 | 1541-1812 | ||
| AC | 1813-1891 | 1754-1900 | 1813-1903 | ||
| FS | 1541-1752 | ||||
| LOPC | 1695-1874 | 1541-1836 | 1541-1874 | ||
| LBMD | None | 1837-1974 | None | ||
| FMP | None | 1541-1752 | None | ||
| FREG | 1541-1630, 1653-1729 | 1541-1644, 1658-1729 | 1641-1729 | ||
| MIDDLETON HOLY TRINITY Chapelry (1862) Indexes | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | None | None | None | ||
| LBMD | None | 1862-1965 - part. | 1863-1970 | ||
| AINSWORTH CHRIST CHURCH Chapelry (1727) Indexes | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | 1727-1912 | 1731-1754; 1808-1837; 1843-1948 | 1727-1948 | ||
| LOPC | None | None | None | ||
| LBMD | None | 1837-1900 | None | ||
| ASHWORTH ST JAMES Chapelry (1813) Indexes | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | 1813-1869 | 1813-1845 | 1836-1869 | ||
| LOPC | None | None | None | ||
| LBMD | None | None | None | ||
| BIRCH IN HOPWOOD ST MARY Chapelry (1829) Indexes | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | 1829-1839 | None | 1829-1839 | ||
| LOPC | None | None | None | ||
| LBMD | None | 1839-1974 | None | ||
| BIRTLE ST JOHN THE BAPTIST Chapelry (1846) Indexes | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | 1846-1910 | 1857-1935 | None | ||
| LOPC | None | None | None | ||
| LBMD | None | http://lancashirebmd.org.uk/marriagesearch.php 1854-1925] | None | ||
| BOWLEE ST THOMAS Chapelry (1877) Indexes | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | None | None | None | ||
| LBMD | None | None | None | ||
| GREAT LEVER ST BARTHOLOMEW Chapelry (1879) Indexes | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | None | None | None | ||
| LOPC | 1879-1934 | 1880-1927 | |||
| GREAT LEVER ST MICHAEL WITH ST BARTHOLOMEW Chapelry (1851) Indexes | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | 1851-1910 |
1851-1935 | None | ||
| LOPC | 1851-1906 | 1851-1924 | 1851-1928 | ||
| LBMD | None | None | None | ||
| HOPWOOD Chapelry - see Birch St Mary Chapelry | |||||
| RHODES ALL SAINTS Chapelry (1864) Indexes | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| AC | 1864-1894 | 1864-1930 | 1876-1949 | ||
| LBMD | None | 1864-1974 | None | ||
| THORNHAM ST JOHN THE EVANGELIST Chapelry (1841) Indexes | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | None | None | None | ||
| LOPC | None | None | None | ||
| LBMD | None | 1911-1974 | None | ||
Middleton parish registers may be found at the Manchester Archives and Local Studies, Central Library, St Peter's Square, Manchester M2 5PD.
Bishop's transcripts for Middleton, 1609-1874 Microreproduction of original manuscripts housed at the Lancashire Record Office, Preston.
Lancashire Record Office: ref. DRM/2/221-230
Here's some of the microfilm copies of Middleton St Leonard's Parish available at The Family History Library, Salt Lake City, UT, U.S.A.. These can be circulated to any one of its satellite FamilySearch Centers worldwide
| Content |
Film |
| Baptisms, marriages and burials, 1609-1641, 1662- 1690, 1721-1729 |
FHL BRITISH Film 1545656 Item 6 |
| Baptisms, marriages and burials, 1730-1805 |
FHL BRITISH Film 1545698 |
| Baptisms, marriages and burials, 1805-1819 |
FHL BRITISH Film 1545699 |
| Baptisms, marriages and burials, 1820-1826 |
FHL BRITISH Film 1545700 |
| Baptisms, marriages and burials, 1827-1832 |
FHL BRITISH Film 1545701 |
| Baptisms and burials, 1833-1839; marriages, 1833- 1837 |
FHL BRITISH Film 1545702 |
| Baptisms, burials, 1840-1847, baptisms, 1865-1868, burials, 1865-1868, baptisms, 1869-1870, burials, 1869-1870, baptisms, burials, 1871, 1873. |
FHL BRITISH Film 1545703 |
| Baptisms and burials, 1873-1874 |
FHL BRITISH Film 1545704 Item 1 |
Non Conformist Records[edit | edit source]
- 1647-1996 England, Lancashire Non-conformist Church Records, 1647-1996 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index (dates may vary by parish)
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Genealogy
[edit | edit source]
Todd, Andrew: Researching Handloom Weavers from Parish Registers. Booth and Dakin of Prestwich and Middleton. History and family tree of John Dakin and Elizabeth, 2) John and Mary Mally also Booth, dating from 1776-1880. Other surnames are Brooks, Fitlon, Holt, Joynson, Smethhurst, and Jackson. Article in The Lancashire Family History and Heraldry Soc. vol. 10. no.1. pages 36-41 FHL Ref. 942.72 B2r
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records
[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Taxation[edit | edit source]
- 1541 - 1541 Subsidy of Myddelton (p. 143)[2]
- 1622 - 1622 Subsidy of Midleton (p. 158)[2]
- 1665-1667 - Lancashire Hearth Tax: Lonsdale Hundred, Middleton. E 179/132/352, The National Archives. Microfilm: FHL Film 2228692.
Maps and Gazetteers
[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Here are some major websites affecting Lanacashire online family history research:
Civil Registration:
- FreeBMD - from 1837 to 1940; later (part.) with free B M Ds for the county and country
- Lancashire BMD - Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths; and provides the parish or place of marriages
Church Records:
British History Online Middleton
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 306-310. Date accessed 21 October 2013
- ↑ 2.0 2.1 J.P. Earwaker, Three Lancashire Subsidy Rolls, viz., for the Hundred of Salford, 1541, the Hundred of Salford, 1622 and the Hundred of Leyland, 1628, Together with a Recusant Roll for the Hundred of Leyland, in 1628 (London: Record Society of Lancashire and Cheshire, 1885). Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.
