Middleton on the Hill, Herefordshire Genealogy
Guide to Middleton on the Hill, Herefordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Middleton on the Hill, Herefordshire|
Middleton on the Hill St Mary Herefordshire
|Poor Law Union||Leominster|
|Parish registers: 1650|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1660|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Hereford (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Herefordshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
MIDDLETON-on-the-Hill (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Leominster, hundred of Wolphy, county of Hereford, 6 miles (N. E.) from Leominster. 
Middleton on the Hill is a village and civil parish in Northern Herfordshire near Leominster. For a history of the church see Middleton on the Hill Wikipedia
Middleton on the Hill St Mary the Virgin is an Ecclesiastical Parish created in 1745 from chapelry in Eye, Herefordshire Ancient Parish.The Parish boundary forms part of the county boundary with neighbour Tenbury, Worcestershire A map of the parish boundary may be found at A church near you The parish is one of those within the Leominster Team Ministry Leominster Community portal The parish website also contains a history Church website
The Parish church of St Mary Middleton Hill has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Middleton on the Hill parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Middleton on the Hill Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog PRs|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
The Herefordshire Archive and Records Centre houses many parish registers. See The records we hold for a list of records available there. How to contact them:
- Herefordshire Archive and Records Centre
Fir Tree Lane
Hereford HR2 6LA
Telephone: +44 (0)1432 260750
Website: Herefordshire Archive and Records Centre
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Middleton on the Hill
Census records[edit | edit source]
FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through the FHC Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
Category:England Family History Centres to locate local Family History Centres in UK
Introduction to Family History Centers to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.
Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)
The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.
Prior to the 1911 census the household schedule was destroyed and only the enumerator's schedule survives.
The 1911 census of England and Wales was taken on the night of Sunday 2 April 1911 and in addition to households and institutions such as prisons and workhouses, canal boats merchant ships and naval vessels it attempted to include homeless persons. The schedule was completed by an individual and for the first time both this record and the enumerator's schedule were preserved. Two forms of boycott of the census by women are possible due to frustration at government failure to grant women the universal right to vote in parliamentary and local elections. The schedule either records a protest by failure to complete the form in respect of the women in the household or women are absent due to organisation of groups of women staying away from home for the whole night. Research estimates that several thousand women are not found by census search.Find my Past 1911 census
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Herefordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 310-313. Accessed and adapted 12 March, 2013.
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.