Midlothian (Edinburghshire), Scotland Genealogy
Guide to Midlothian (Edinburghshire) County ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
|Midlothian Wiki Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
History[edit | edit source]
Edinburghshire, or Midlothian, is the metropolitan county of the kingdom of Scotland, bounded on the north by the Firth of Forth (along the shore of which it extends for about twelve miles), on the east by Haddingtonshire and small portions of the counties of Berwick and Roxburgh, on the south by the counties of Lanark, Peebles, and Selkirk, and on the west by Linlithgowshire. It is about 36 miles in length from east to west and 18 miles in extreme breadth, comprising an area of 360 square miles or 230,400 acres.
The county originally occupied the central portion of the ancient and extensive province of Lothian, or Loudon, and from this circumstance it obtained the appellation of Mid Lothian. After the departure of the Romans, this district very soon fell into the power of the Saxons where it remained until Malcolm II defeated the Saxons and gained the area.
The county comprises 30 parishes besides those in the capital city of Edinburgh, which is also the county town. Edinburgh is the only royal burgh. Musselburgh and Canongate are burghs of regality, Dalkeith and Portsburgh are burghs of barony, the chief port is Leith, and there are seventeen flourishing villages and numerous pleasant hamlets.
ScotlandsPeople: An Important Online Source[edit | edit source]
ScotlandsPeople is one of the largest online sources of original genealogical information. If you are researching UK genealogy, your Scottish ancestry or building your Scottish family tree, they have more than 100 million records to look through.
The comprehensive choice of Scottish records includes:
For more detail on record availability, see Guides. For the content guide to what records are on the site, see Guides A-Z. More information on the site, its contents, and instructions for using it can be found in the ScotlandsPeople Wiki article. Indexes may be searched for free, and there is a pay per view fee to see the digitized record.
Census[edit | edit source]
Many census records have been indexed by surname. Some indexes cover one parish (and will be listed in the Wiki on the parish page) and some indexes are for the county as a whole. The Family History Library has county-wide census placename indexes for Midlothian for 1881. Click here for other census indexes available at the library.
- ScotlandsPeople, index, images, free index, pay per view ($)
- Scotland Census, 1841, no images. Also at MyHeritage, index, ($). Also at FindMyPast, index, ($). Also at Ancestry.com, index, ($).
- Scotland Census, 1851, no images. Also at MyHeritage, index, ($). Also at FindMyPast, index, ($). Also at Ancestry.com, index, ($).
- Scotland Census, 1861, no images. Also at MyHeritage, index, ($). Also at FindMyPast, index, ($). Also at Ancestry.com, index, ($).
- Scotland Census, 1871, no images. Also at FindMyPast, index, ($). Also at Ancestry.com, index, ($).
- Scotland Census, 1881, no images. Also at FindMyPast, index, ($). Also at Ancestry.com, index, ($).
- Scotland Census, 1891, no images. Also at FindMyPast, index, ($). Also at Ancestry.com, index, ($).
- Scotland Census, 1901 at FamilySearch — index.
- Scotland Census, 1901, index and images, ($). Also at FindMyPast, index, ($). Also at Ancestry.com, index, ($).
- Scotland Census, 1911, index and images, ($).
Cargill, David C. Irishmen in Scottish Census Records. Two census returns in respect of Irish Regiments stationed at Leith Fort and Piershill Barracks in Edinburgh 1851. Regiments - Royal Artillery - gives places of birth in Ireland, civilian occupation. 13th Light Dragoons only gives name, position in Army, age, where came from in Ireland, wife and any children. Article in The Irish Ancestor, Vol. IV, no. 1. 1972, pages 8-14, Family History Library Book Ref.941.5 B2i
Church Records[edit | edit source]
- 1658 - 1919 - Scotland Church Records and Kirk Session Records, 1658-1919 at FamilySearch — index
- 1736 - 1990 - Scotland Presbyterian & Protestant Church Records, 1736-1990 at FamilySearch — index
Civil Registration or Statutory Registers[edit | edit source]
For details on information found in statutory registers and other methods of searching them, see Scotland Statutory Registers.
Parishes[edit | edit source]
Some of the Midlothian parish records are indexed in Midlothian, Scotland, Extracted Parish Records.
- This database is a collection of historical parish registers from the county of Midlothian in the country of Scotland. The records in this collection can range in date from the early 1500s to the mid- to late-1800s. The records include baptisms/christenings, burials, marriages, tombstone inscriptions, obituaries, tax lists, wills, and other miscellaneous types of records. Also included are some records from non-conformist churches. You will find interesting phonetic spelling. Some of the records may be in Latin or even a Welsh or Scottish dialect. Due to the nature of the records and because the records were originally compiled by a third party, it is difficult to absolutely verify the completeness and validity of the data.
Here is a list of historic parishes for the county of Midlothian (or Edinburghshire) with their parish numbers. Click on a parish name to see information about records.
Click on this link for an outline map of the parish of Midlothian.
|Borthwick||674||Kirknewton and East Calder||690|
|Carrington (or Primrose)||675||Leith (North)||692-1|
|Colinton (or Hailes)||677||Liberton||693|
|Crichton||681||North Leith -- see Leith (North)||692-1|
|Dalkeith||683||Primrose -- see Carrington||675|
|East Calder -- see Kirknewton||690||South Leith -- see Leith (South)||692-2|
|Edinburgh||685-1||Soutra -- see Fala and Soutra||686|
|Fala and Soutra||686||St. Cuthberts||685-2|
|Glencorse (formerly Woodhouselee)||687||Stow||699|
|Hailes -- see Colinton||677||Temple||700|
|Inveresk||689||Woodhouselee-- see Glencorse||687|
Directories[edit | edit source]
Courtesy of the National Library of Scotland, Post Office Directories are avilable online. The directory available for Musselburgh is:
1903: These are available in either PDF format or viewable online.
Maps[edit | edit source]
Poorhouse Records[edit | edit source]
NOTE: Workhouses in Scotland were commonly known as poorhouses. For more information on Scottish poorhouses, go to the Scotland Poorhouses, Poor Law, Etc page.
There were six workhouses in this county:
- Edinburgh City
- Dalkeith Combination
- Inveresk Combination
- North Leith
- South Leith
- St Cuthberts (Craigleith) Combination, Edinburgh
A description with drawings and photos of the workhouses today along with databases of those living there from the 1881 Census are provided on the links above located on the site entitled The Workhouse: The story of an institution... which is owned and operated by Peter Higginbotham.
Societies[edit | edit source]
The Heraldry Society of Scotland
25 Craigentinny Crescent
Edinburgh, EH7 6QA
Scottish Genealogy Society
15 Victoria Terrace
Phone-0131 220 3677
References[edit | edit source]
- Samuel Lewis. Topographical Dictionary of Scotland, (London, England: S. Lewis and Co., 1846), 3 v.: 651, [FHL book 941 E5]. Digitized by FamilySearch International, FamilySearch.org, https://www.familysearch.org/search/catalog/216925 (accessed June 20, 2016).
- Samuel Lewis. "Edinburgh - Edinburghshire," in A Topographical Dictionary of Scotland, (London, 1846), 361-392. British History Online, http://www.british-history.ac.uk/topographical-dict/scotland/pp361-392 (accessed June 4, 2020).