Midlothian Archives and Libraries

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Midlothian Wiki Topics
Midlothian.jpg
Beginning Research
Record Types
Scotland Background
Local Research Resources

For a list of archives and libraries on the national level, go to the Scotland Archives and Libraries page.

Archives[edit | edit source]

Edinburgh City Archives
City Chambers
High Street
Edinburgh EH1 1YJ UK
Telephone: 0131 529 4616
Email: archives@edinburgh.gov.uk
Website: Edinburgh City Archives

We hold the historical records of the City of Edinburgh Council and its previous authorities. We also collect records which relate to the Edinburgh area created by clubs, societies, individuals, businesses, and organisations. Our aim is to preserve these records and make them available to members of the public.

Midlothian Archives
Dalkeith Library
White Hart Street
Dalkeith EH22 1AE UK
Telephone: 0131 663 2083
Email: local.studies@midlothian.gov.uk
Website: Midlothian Archives

Midlothian Council holds a large collection of historical records about the local area. Many of the records are unique, making the collection invaluable if you are interested in the history and culture of Midlothian, including family history.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

City of Edinburgh[edit | edit source]

Balerno Library
1 Main Street
Balerno EH14 7EQ UK
Telephone: 0131 529 5500
Email: balerno.library@edinburgh.gov.uk
Website: Balerno Library
Website #2: Balerno Library

Balgreen Library
173 Balgreen Rd
Edinburgh EH11 3AT UK
Telephone: 0131 529 5585
Email: balgreen.library@edinburgh.gov.uk
Website: Balgreen Library
Website #2: Balgreen Library

Blackhall Library
56 Hillhouse Rd
Edinburgh EH4 5EG UK
Telephone: 0131 529 5595
Email: blackhall.library@edinburgh.gov.uk
Website: Blackhall Library
Website #2: Blackhall Library

Colinton Library
14 Thorburn Rd
Edinburgh EH13 0BQ UK
Telephone: 0131 529 5603
Email: colinton.library@edinburgh.gov.uk
Website: Colinton Library
Website #2: Colinton Library

Corstorphine Library
Corstorphine Community Centre
12 Kirk Loan
Edinburgh EH12 7HD UK
Telephone: 0131 529 5506
Email: corstorphine.library@edinburgh.gov.uk
Website: Corstorphine Library
Website #2: Corstorphine Library

Craigmillar Library
101 Niddrie Mains Rd
Edinburgh EH16 4DS UK
Telephone: 0131 529 5597
Email: craigmillar.library@edinburgh.gov.uk
Website: Craigmillar Library
Website #2: Craigmillar Library

Currie Library
210 Lanark Rd W
Currie EH14 5NX UK
Telephone: 0131 529 5609
Email: currie.library@edinburgh.gov.uk
Website: Currie Library
Website #2: Currie Library

Drumbrae Library Hub
81 Drum Brae Dr
Edinburgh EH4 7FE UK
Telephone: 0131 529 5244
Email: drumbrae.library@edinburgh.gov.uk
Website: Drumbrae Library Hub
Website #2: Drumbrae Library Hub

Edinburgh Central Library
7-9 George IV Bridge
Edinburgh EH1 1EG UK
Telephone: 0131 242 8000
Email: libraries@edinburgh.gov.uk
Website: Edinburgh Central Library
Website #2: Edinburgh Central Library

Fountainbridge Library
137 Dundee St
Edinburgh EH11 1BG UK
Telephone: 0131 529 5616
Email: fountainbridge.library@edinburgh.gov.uk
Website: Fountainbridge Library
Website #2: Fountainbridge Library

Gilmerton Library
13 Newtoft St
Edinburgh EH17 8RG UK
Telephone: 0131 529 5628
Email: gilmerton.library@edinburgh.gov.uk
Website: Gilmerton Library
Website #2: Gilmerton Library

Granton Library
29 Wardieburn Terrace
Edinburgh EH5 1DD UK
Telephone: 0131 529 5630
Email: granton.library@edinburgh.gov.uk
Website: Granton Library
Website #2: Granton Library

Kirkliston Library
16 Station Rd
Edinburgh EH29 9BE UK
Telephone: 0131 529 5510
Email: kirkliston.library@edinburgh.gov.uk
Website: Kirkliston Library
Website #2: Kirkliston Library

Leith Community Library
28-30 Ferry Rd
Edinburgh EH6 4AE UK
Telephone: 0131 529 5517
Email: leith.library@edinburgh.gov.uk
Website: Leith Community Library
Website #2: Leith Community Library

McDonald Road Library
2-4 McDonald Rd
Edinburgh EH7 4LU UK
Telephone: 0131 529 5636
Email: mcdonaldroad.library@edinburgh.gov.uk
Website: McDonald Road Library
Website #2: McDonald Road Library

Moredun Library
92 Moredun Park Rd
Edinburgh EH17 7HL UK
Telephone: 0131 529 5652
Email: moredun.library@edinburgh.gov.uk
Website: Moredun Library
Website #2: Moredun Library

Morningside Library
184-186 Morningside Rd
Edinburgh EH10 4PU UK
Telephone: 0131 529 5654
Email: morningside.library@edinburgh.gov.uk
Website: Morningside Library
Website #2: Morningside Library

Muirhouse Library
15A Pennywell Rd
Edinburgh EH4 4TZ UK
Telephone: 0131 529 5528
Email: muirhouse.library@edinburgh.gov.uk
Website: Muirhouse Library
Website #2: Muirhouse Library

Newington Library
17-21 Fountainhall Rd
Edinburgh EH9 2LN UK
Telephone: 0131 529 5536
Email: newington.library@edinburgh.gov.uk
Website: Newington Library
Website #2: Newington Library

Oxgangs Library
343 Oxgangs Rd N
Edinburgh EH13 9LY UK
Telephone: 0131 529 5549
Email: oxgangs.library@edinburgh.gov.uk
Website: Oxgangs Library
Website #2: Oxgangs Library

Piershill Library
30 Piershill Terrace
Edinburgh EH8 7BQ UK
Telephone: 0131 529 5685
Email: piershill.library@edinburgh.gov.uk
Website: Piershill Library
Website #2: Piershill Library

Portobello Library
14 Rosefield Ave
Edinburgh EH15 1AU UK
Telephone: 0131 529 5558
Email: portobello.library@edinburgh.gov.uk
Website: Portobello Library
Website #2: Portobello Library

Ratho Library
6 School Wynd
Ratho, Newbridge EH28 8TT UK
Telephone: 0131 333 5297
Email: ratho.library@edinburgh.gov.uk
Website: Ratho Library
Website #2: Ratho Library

Sighthill Library
Gate 55
55 Sighthill Rd
Edinburgh EH11 4PB UK
Telephone: 0131 529 5566
Email: sighthill.library@edinburgh.gov.uk
Website: Sighthill Library
Website #2: Sighthill Library

South Neighbourhood Office and Library
40 Captain's Rd
Edinburgh EH17 8QF UK
Telephone: 0131 529 5151
Email: southeast.locality@edinburgh.gov.uk
Website: South Neighbourhood Office and Library
Website #2: South Neighbourhood Office and Library

Stockbridge Library
11 Hamilton Pl
Edinburgh EH3 5BA UK
Telephone: 0131 529 5665
Email: stockbridge.library@edinburgh.gov.uk
Website: Stockbridge Library
Website #2: Stockbridge Library

Wester Hailes Library
1 West Side Plaza
Edinburgh EH14 2ST UK
Telephone: 0131 529 5667
Email: westerhailes.library@edinburgh.gov.uk
Website: Wester Hailes Library
Website #2: Wester Hailes Library

Midlothian[edit | edit source]

Dalkeith Library
2 White Hart Street
Dalkeith EH22 1AE UK
Telephone: 0131 663 2083
Email: dalkeith.library@midlothian.gov.uk
Website: Dalkeith Library

Danderhall Library
1a Campview
Danderhall EH22 1QD UK
Telephone: 0131 663 9293
Email: danderhall.library@midlothian.gov.uk
Website: Danderhall Library

East Calder Library
East Calder Partnership Centre
139 Main Street
East Calder EH53 0EP UK
Telephone: 01506 284020
Email: eastcalder.lib@westlothian.gov.uk
Website: East Calder Library

Gorebridge Library
98 Hunterfield Road
Gorebridge EH23 4TT UK
Telephone: 01875 820630
Email: gorebridge.library@midlothian.gov.uk
Website: Gorebridge Library

Lasswade Library
The Lasswade Centre
Lasswade Library
19 Eskdale Drive
Bonnyrigg EH19 2LA UK
Telephone: 0131 271 4534
Email: lasswade.library@midlothian.gov.uk
Website: Lasswade Library

Loanhead Library
The Loanhead Centre
George Avenue
Loanhead EH20 9LA UK
Telephone: 0131 444 9032
Email: loanhead.library@midlothian.gov.uk
Website: Loanhead Library

Mayfield Library
Stone Avenue
Mayfield EH22 5PB UK
Telephone: 0131 663 2126
Email: mayfield.library@midlothian.gov.uk
Website: Mayfield Library

Musselburgh Library
10 Bridge St
Musselburgh, East Lothian EH21 6AG UK
Telephone: 0131 653 5130
Email: musselburgh.library@eastlothian.gov.uk
Website: Musselburgh Library

Newbattle Library
Newbattle Community Campus
1 Newbattle Way
Easthouses, Dalkeith EH22 4SX UK
Telephone: 0131 561 6745
Email: newbattle.library@midlothian.gov.uk
Website: Newbattle Library

Newtongrange Library
St Davids
Newtongrange EH22 4LG UK
Telephone: 0131 663 1816
Email: newtongrange.library@midlothian.gov.uk
Website: Newtongrange Library

Penicuik Library
Carlops Road
Penicuik EH26 9EP UK
Telephone: 01968 664050
Email: penicuik.library@midlothian.gov.uk
Website: Penicuik Library

Roslin Library
9a Main Street
Roslin EH25 9LD UK
Telephone: 0131 448 2781
Email: Roslin.Library@midlothian.gov.uk
Website: Roslin Library

Wallyford Library
3-4 Fa'Side Ave N
Wallyford, Musselburgh EH21 8BA UK
Telephone: 0131 653 5140
Email: wallyford.library@eastlothian.gov.uk
Website: Wallyford Library

West Calder Library
Main Street
West Calder EH55 8BQ UK
Telephone: 01506 283550
Email: westcalder.lib@westlothian.gov.uk
Website: West Calder Library

For a list of Midlothian libraries, go to List of libraries in Scotland in Wikipedia. Scroll down to City of Edinburgh and Midlothian. The parishes in historic Midlothian are listed in the FamilySearch Research Wiki.

Museums[edit | edit source]

Museum of Edinburgh
142-146 Canongate
Edinburgh EH8 8DD UK
Telephone: 0131 529 4143
Email: museumsandgalleries@edinburgh.gov.uk
Website: Museum of Edinburgh
Website #2: Museum of Edinburgh

National Mining Museum
Lady Victoria Colliery
Newtongrange EH22 4QN UK
Telephone: 0131 663 7519
Email: enquiries@nationalminingmuseum.com
Website: National Mining Museum

National Museum of Scotland
Chambers Street
Edinburgh EH1 1JF UK
Telephone: 0300 123 6789
Email: info@nms.ac.uk
Website: National Museum of Scotland
Website #2: National Museum of Scotland

The People's Story Museum
163 Canongate
Royal Mile
Edinburgh EH8 8BN UK
Telephone: 0131 529 4057
Email: museumsandgalleries@edinburgh.gov.uk
Website: The People's Story Museum

For a list of Midlothian museums, go to List of museums in Scotland in Wikipedia. Scroll down to Edinburgh and Midlothian. The parishes in historic Midlothian are listed in the FamilySearch Research Wiki.