Milam County, Texas Genealogy
Guide to Milam County Texas ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Milam County, Texas|
Location in the state of Texas, United States Genealogy
Location of Texas in the U.S.
|Founded||March 17, 1836|
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The county was named for Benjamin Rush Milam (pronounced "MY-lum"), an early settler and a soldier in the Texas Revolution. The County is located in the east-central area of the state.
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Milam County Courthouse
PO Box 191
Cameron, Texas 76520-4216
Inventory of county records, Milam County Courthouse, Cameron, Texas from Portal to Texas History
County Clerk has birth and death records from 1903,
marriage records from 1873, probate, court and land
records, school census records 1909-1970 and
military discharge records from 1919
107 W. Main
102 South Fannin Ste. 5
Milam County, Texas Record Dates[edit | edit source]
General compliance by the 1930s.
History[edit | edit source]
1836--In 1836 Milam County consituted one-sixth of the land in the territory in Texas.
Parent County[edit | edit source]
1836--Milam County was created on 17 March 1836 from the Old Mexican Municipality.
- County seat: Cameron 
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
1874--Courthouse and all county records were destroyed by fire in April 1874.
Places / Localities[edit | edit source]
Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
‡This populated place also has portions in an adjacent county or counties
Ghost Towns[edit | edit source]
Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
African American[edit | edit source]
- 1865 - 1870 Freedmen's Bureau Field Office Records, 1865-1870(images) - FamilySearch
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|FindAGrave||Family History Library||FindAGrave|
|BillionGraves (name)||Cemeteries of TX|
|GenWeb Archives||Texas Cemeteries|
|Names in Stone||FamilySearch Places|
|See Texas Cemeteries for more information.|
Census[edit | edit source]
- Milam County Census Records Milam County Genealogical Society
- 1850 Milam County Federal Census Index Milam County Genealogical Society
- 1850 Milam County Slave Schedules Milam County Genealogical Society
- 1850 Milam County Federal Census Index USGenWeb
- 1850 Milam County Federal Census ~ USGenWeb
- 1870 Milam County Federal Census USGenWeb
- 1880 Federal Census FamilySearch.org
Churches[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death/burial date and place. For general information about Texas denominations, view the Texas Church Records wiki page.
- Milam County Churches Milam County Genealogical Society
Lutheran[edit | edit source]
- Records of the American Lutheran Church, Pettibone, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court[edit | edit source]
Land[edit | edit source]
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Milam County, Texas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.
- History of Milam County 1936 Lair Yearbook of Rockdale High School
- History of Texas, together with a biographical history of Milam, Williamson, Bastrop, Travis, Lee and Burleson counties, 1893 The Portal to Texas History
- Milam County History The Handbook of Texas Online
- Milam County Famous People and Families Milam County Genealogical Society
- Milam County Historical Markers Milam County Historical Commission
Maps[edit | edit source]
- 1895 Milam County Map 1895 US Atlas
- Milam County Maps at Portal to Texas History
- Milam County Soil Map displays cemeteries, churches, schools, et al - at Portal to Texas History
- FamilySearch Places:Cities and Towns- How to Use FS Places
Military[edit | edit source]
- 1838 - 1900 - Texas Muster Roll Index Cards at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- Milam County Military Records Milam County Genealogical Society
Mexican-American War[edit | edit source]
Civil War[edit | edit source]
- 1861 - 1865 - Texas, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861 - 1865 - Texas, Civil War Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- Confederate Pension Applications ~ Texas State Library and Archives Commission
- Milam County Confederate Pension Applications Texas State Library & Archives
World War I[edit | edit source]
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Milam County, Texas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
- TX Newspaper Abstracts (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Milam County, Texas Newspapers Milam County Genealogical Society
- Rockdale Messenger at Fulton History
- Texas Digital Newspaper Program at The Portal to Texas History
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
- Find Your Roots in Some Central Texas Obituaries Milam County Genealogical Society
- TXMILAM-L Archives Milam County Obituaries
- USGenWeb Archives Obituary Project Texas
Probate[edit | edit source]
Probate records of Texas, United States Genealogy have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.
See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1800 – 1990 Texas Probate Records 1800-1990 at FamilySearch — images
- 1800 – 2000 Texas Wills and Probate Records 1800-2000 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- Search Tax, Criminal, Land and Wills Records Ancestry.com (subscription)
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.
- 1846-1910 Texas, County Tax Rolls 1846-1910 at findmypast ($) — index and images
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Certified birth and death certificates or birth and death verifications can be ordered online or by mail at the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health. Copies can also be obtained from the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred and are often less expensive.
See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas.
Birth[edit | edit source]
Online Birth Indexes and Records
- 1840 - 1981 Texas Births and Christenings 1840-1981 Family Search
- 1903 - 1934 Texas Birth Certificates 1903-1934 Family Search
- 1926-1995 Texas Births, 1926 - 1995 at MyHeritage ($) — index
Marriage[edit | edit source]
Online Marriage Indexes and Records
- 1802 - 2010 Texas, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1814 - 1909 and 1966 - 2011 Texas Marriage Collection 1814-1909 and 1966-2011 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1837 - 1965 Texas, County Marriage Records, 1837-1965 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1837 - 1973 Texas, Marriages, 1837-1973 at FamilySearch — index
- 1837 - 1977 Texas, County Marriage Index, 1837-1977 at FamilySearch — index
- 1837 - 1977 Texas Select County Marriage Index 1837-1977 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1966 - 2010 Texas, Marriages, 1966-2010 FamilySearch record collection
- 1966-2016 Texas Marriages and Divorces at MyHeritage ($) — index
Death[edit | edit source]
Online Death Indexes and Records
- 1890 - 1976 Texas Deaths 1890-1976Family Search
- 1903 - 1973 Texas Deaths and Burials 1903-1973 Family Search
- 1903 - 2000 Texas, Death Index, 1903-2000 (index) - FamilySearch
- 1964 - 1998 Texas Death Index 1964 to 1998 Family Search
- 1977 - 1986 Texas Deaths 1977-1986 at FamilySearch.org — index
Divorce[edit | edit source]
- 1968 - 2005 http://www.hiddenancestors.com/Texas/texas_divorce_records.htm Texas Divorce Records 1968 - 2005] (index) Hidden Ancestors
- 1968-2010 Texas Divorce Index 1968-2010 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1966-2016 Texas Marriages and Divorces at MyHeritage ($) — index
Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]
Milam County Genealogical Society
c/o Lucy Hill Patterson Library
201 Ackerman St.
Rockdale, TX 76567
Cameron Public Library
304 E 3rd St
Cameron, TX 76520
Telephone Number: 254-697-2401
Family History Centers
[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Milam TXGenWeb
- Milam County Genealogy Website Milam County Genealogical Society
- Milam County Archives USGenWeb Archives Project
- FamilySearch Catalog — The catalog is genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) This catalog is different than the indexed Historical Records.
- Texas Escapes Online Magazine Articles Specific to Milam County
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Milam, Texas" in "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Milam_County,_Texas. accessed 11/21/2019
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Milam County, Texas. Page 670 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Milam County, Texas . Page 658-677 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 655-665.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Wikipedia contributors, "Milam County, Texas," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Milam_County,_Texas, Last accessed 14 August 2019.