Milburn, Westmorland Genealogy
Guide to Milburn, Westmorland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
| Milburn, Westmorland | |
|---|---|
| Type | Ecclesiastical Parish |
| Civil Jurisdictions | |
| Hundred | East |
| County | Westmorland, England Genealogy |
| Poor Law Union | East Ward |
| Registration District | East Ward |
| Records begin | |
| Parish registers: 1678 | |
| Bishop's Transcripts: 1682 | |
| Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions | |
| Rural Deanery | Westmorland |
| Diocese | Carlisle |
| Province | York |
| Legal Jurisdictions | |
| Probate Court | Court of the Bishop of Carlisle (Episcopal Consistory) |
| Location of Archive | |
| Westmorland Record Office | |
Contents
Parish History[edit | edit source]
MILBURN, a chapelry, in the parish of Kirkby Thore, East ward and union, county of Westmorland, 6 miles (N. by W.) from Appleby. [1]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Milburn, Westmorland Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
| PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2] | |||||
| PRTs = Parish Register Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free[3] |
| MILBURN PARISH Online Records | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | |
| PALL | 1790-1812 | |||||
| PRTs | 1679-1812 | 1679-1812 | 1679-1812 | |||
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records
[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Westmorland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 313-316. Date accessed: 02 August 2012.
- ↑ Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes.
- ↑ FamilySearch Catalog. Accessed 19 January 2016.
