Millom, Cumberland Genealogy
Guide to Millom, Cumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Hundred||Allerdale above Derwent|
|Poor Law Union||Bootle|
|Parish registers: 1590|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1689|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Western Deaneries - Copeland|
|Location of Archive|
|Cumberland Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
MILLOM (Holy Trinity), a parish, in the union of Bootle, Allerdale ward above Derwent, W. division of Cumberland, 12 miles (S. E. by S.) from Ravenglass. Comprising the chapelries of Thwaites and Ulpha, and the townships of Birker with Austhwaite, Chapel-Sucken, and the Farm of Stainton
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Millom, Cumberland Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|PRTs = Parish Register Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free|
|MILLOM PARISH Online Records|
Record on microfilm
The registers of Millom, Cumberland, 1591-1812
Parish registers for St. George's Church, Millom, 1877-1909
Parish registers forHoly Trinity Church, Millom, 1590-1915
Bishop's transcripts for Holy Trinity Church Millom, 1690-1881
Parish registers for Chapelry of Haverigg, 1891-1911
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
- Wesleyan Methodist - Chapel Queen Street Church records, 1873-1891
- Bible Christian Church - Millom and Dalton Circuit (Lancashire) - Church records, 1870-1891
- Primitive Methodist - Chapel Holborn Hill - Church records, 1869-1902
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Millom on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]