Misson, Nottinghamshire Genealogy
Guide to Mission, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records. Also see: Mission, Lincolnshire.
| Misson, Nottinghamshire | |
|---|---|
| Type | England Jurisdictions |
| Civil Jurisdictions | |
| Hundred | Bassetlaw |
| County | Nottinghamshire, England Genealogy |
| Poor Law Union | Doncaster |
| Registration District | Doncaster |
| Records begin | |
| Parish registers: 1636 | |
| Bishop's Transcripts: 1600 | |
| Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions | |
| Rural Deanery | Retford |
| Diocese | Pre-1837 - York; Post-1836 - Lincoln |
| Legal Jurisdictions | |
| Probate Court | Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York |
| Location of Archive | |
| Nottinghamshire Record Office | |
Contents
Parish History[edit | edit source]
MISSON, a parish, in the union of Doncaster, Hatfield division of the wapentake of Bassetlaw, N. division of the county of Nottingham, 2¾ miles (E. N. E.) from Bawtry with the hamlet of Newington. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]
Additional information:
Misson St John the Baptist is an Ancient Parish which included Newington and part of the parish boundary forms the county boundary with neighbouring Wroot, Lincolnshire Genealogy and Haxey, Lincolnshire Genealogy. The village and civil parish of Misson is in the Bassetlaw district of Nottinghamshire, Misson Springs to the north of Misson village forms the northernmost part of Nottinghamshire see Misson Wikipedia
RAF Misson operated from 1960-1963 see RAF Misson Wikipedia
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Misson, Nottinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
| FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)[2] |
| Misson, Nottinghamshire Genealogy Parish Online Records | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | |
| FMP | Undefined | Undefined | Undefined | |||
Misson St John the Baptist
Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1636-1965 Marriages 1636-1954 Burials 1636-1961 Bishop’s Transcripts 1600-1865
Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
Nottingham
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Misson NottinghamshireMisson
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Occupation[edit | edit source]
Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted, date accessed: 08 December 2013.
- ↑ 'Nottinghamshire baptisms 1538-1980,' 'Nottinghamshire marriages 1528-1929,' 'Nottinghamshire burials 1539-1905,' findmypast, accessed 12 January 2015.
