Misterton, Nottinghamshire Genealogy
Guide to Misterton, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
West Stockwith St Mary the Virgin Nottinghamshire
|County||Nottinghamshire, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Gainsborough|
|Parish registers: 1540|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1635|
|Probate Court||Pre-1800 - Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of York Post-1799 - Court of the Manor of Gringley-on-the-Hill or Bawtry|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
MISTERTON (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Gainsborough, North Clay division of the wapentake of Bassetlaw, N. division of the county of Nottingham, 4¾ miles (N. W.) from Gainsborough with the township of West Stockwith. At West Stockwith is a chapel of ease. There are places of worship for Calvinistic and Wesleyan Methodists, and a Roman Catholic chapel.
Misterton All Saints is an Ancient parish and the chapelry of Stockwith, Nottinghamshire Genealogy was formed from this parish. The parish boundary forms part of the county boundary with neighbours Haxey, Lincolnshire Genealogy and Owston, Lincolnshire Genealogy
The Southwell and Nottingham Church History Project have researched the parish West Stockwith St Mary the Blessed Virgin
The parish church of All Saints Misterton has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building
The church of St Mary the Virgin West Stockwith has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building
See also Misterton Wikipedia
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Misterton, Nottinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|Misterton, Nottinghamshire Genealogy Parish Online Records|
Misterton All Saints Baptisms 1540-1955 Marriages 1543-1951 Burials 1540-1951 Bishop's Transcripts 1635-1840
Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1867-1911 Marriages 1893-1945
Nottinghamshire County Council
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Misterton
Bailey, Brian. Misterton Scrapbook. The Scrapbook mainly concerns Methodism and was possibly compiled by James Stothard of Misterton, a farmer. He included the Gainsborough (Wesleyan Methodist) circuit which included West Stockwith, Misterton, Beckingham, Walkeringham, Sturton and Bole with a list of members, some starting as early as 1817. The original is held at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref DD 793/1. Transcription is in the Nottinghamshire Family History Soc. Magazine, vol. 121, pages 73-88 with an alphabetical listing. FHL Ref. 942.52 D25n
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..