Mobile County, Alabama Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Mobile County, Alabama ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Mobile[1]
Organized: August 1, 1812
Parent County(s): West Florida
Neighboring Counties
Baldwin  • Clarke  • Washington  • George (MS)  • Greene (MS)  • Jackson (MS)
See County Maps
Courthouse
Mobile County, Alabama Courthouse.jpg
Location Map
Mobile County Alabama.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named in honor of the indigenous Maubila tribe.[2]The county is located in the southwest area of the state.[3]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Mobile County Courthouse
205 Government Plaza #913
Mobile, Al 36644-2936
Phone: 251-574-8786
Mobile County Website

Probate Judge has marriage records from 1813
Probate Records from 1812 and land records from 1813[4]

Mobile County, Alabama Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[5]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate Census
1871 1813 1820 1814 1813 1812 1816
*Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1908. General compliance for births by 1927 and for deaths 1925.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

Mobile County had destructive courthouse fires in 1823, 1840, and 1872.[6]

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:


Mobile, Alabama Wind Storm

7/5/1916

1916-MOBILE IS SWEPT BY 85-MILE-AN-HOUR WIND . . The county courthouse was severely damaged, and faces of the clock on all four sides were blown off. . . The courthouse tower was wrecked and rain poured into the court rooms. . .
(source:GenDisasters)

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • 1812--Mobile County was created 1 August 1812 from West Florida.
  • County seat: Mobile[7]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in Mobile County:[8]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator.

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places
Ghost towns


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Mobile, Alabama online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Alabama Cemeteries for more information

The following web site has additional information on Mobile county cemeteries.


Census Records[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1820 2,672
1830 6,267 134.5%
1840 18,741 199.0%
1850 27,600 47.3%
1860 41,131 49.0%
1870 49,311 19.9%
1880 48,653 −1.3%
1890 51,587 6.0%
1900 62,740 21.6%
1910 80,854 28.9%
1920 100,117 23.8%
1930 118,363 18.2%
1940 141,974 19.9%
1950 231,105 62.8%
1960 314,301 36.0%
1970 317,308 1.0%
1980 364,980 15.0%
1990 378,643 3.7%
2000 399,843 5.6%
2010 412,992 3.3%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

State Census

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Alabama denominations, view the Alabama Church Records wiki page.
Church Records (Rural)
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Alabama denominations, view the Alabama Church Records wiki page.

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Notre Dame du Fort Conde de la Mobile, Mobile

  • 1704-1764 - Notre Dame du Fort Conde de la Mobile, Mobile Baptism Index 1704-1764. Batch C594181 at [9]
  • 1704-1764 - Notre Dame du Fort Conde de la Mobile, Mobile Marriage Index 1704-1764. Batch M594181 at FamilySearch

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African American

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Alabama Land and Property for additional information about early Alabama land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Mobile County. The histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Alabama Local Histories.

  • Bi-centennial Celebration, May 26-28, 1911, of the Founding of Mobile by Jean Baptiste de Bienville, 1711. Mobile: Commercial Print. Co., 1912. Digital version at Ancestry
  • Craighead, Erwin. Mobile: Fact and Tradition, Noteworthy People and Events. Mobile, Ala.: Powers Print. Co., 1930. Digital version at Ancestry
  • Delaney, Caldwell. Remember Mobile. Mobile, Ala., 1948. Digital version at Ancestry
  • Hamilton, Peter J. Colonial Mobile: An Historical Study, Largely from Original Sources, of the Alabama-Tombigbee Basin and the old South West from the Discovery of the Spiritu Santo in 1519 Until the Demolition of Fort Charlotte in 1821. Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 1910. Digital version at Ancestry
  • Hamilton, Peter J. Mobile of the Five Flags: The Story of the River Basin and Coast about Mobile from the Earliest Times to the Present. Mobile: Gill Print. Co., 1913. Digital version at Ancestry

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

WashingtonBaldwinJackson County, MSGeorge County, MSGreene County, MSAL MOBILE.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War
Regiments. Men in Mobile County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (part of a large regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Mobile County:

- 1st Battalion, Alabama Artillery, Company A
- 1st Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company D (Red Eagles)
- 2nd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company F, G, H and I
- 3rd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company A "Mobile Cadets
- 3rd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company B "Gulf City Guards"
- 3rd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company E "Washington Light Infantry"
- 3rd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company K "Mobile Rifles"
- 3rd Regiment, Alabama Cavalry, Company E, Mobile Humphries Dragoons [formerly Co. "D", Wirt Adams' Cavalry]
- 8th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company C "Alex Stephens' Guards"
- 8th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company E "Hamp Smith Rifles"
- 8th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company G "German Fusileers
- 8th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company H "Mobile Independent Scouts"
- 8th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company I "Emerald Guards"
- 9th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company A "Beauregard Rifles"
- 12th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company A "Lafayette Guards"
- 12th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company C "Independent Rifles
- 12th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company I "Southern Foresters"
- 21st Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company A "Washington Light Infantry"
- 21st Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company D "Mobile Battle Guards:
- 21st Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company E "Chamberlain Rifles or Woodruff Rifles"
- 21st Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company G
- 21st Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company H "Swanson Guards or French Guards"
- 21st Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company I "Independence Rifles or United Rangers"
- 21st Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company K "Mobile Cadets"
- 22nd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company H "Sam Cooper Rifles"
- 24th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company A "Washington Guards"
- 24th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company B "Emmett Guards"
- 24th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company D "Beulah Guards"
- 24th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company F "Alabama Guards"
- 24th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company G
- 24th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company I "Confederate Guards"
- 32nd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company B, C, F, I and K
- 36th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company E
- 38th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company G and K
- 40th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company F, H, I and K
- 42nd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company I
- 43rd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company F
- 51st Regiment, Alabama Partisan Rangers, Company K


Civil War Battle Fought in Mobile County

  • Mobile Bay, also known as Passing of Forts Morgan and Gaines, August 2-23, 1864 (partly fought in Baldwin County)

Battle information from Civil War Battle Summaries by State, by the Heritage Preservation Services.

Map showing Civil War battles in Alabama, by the Heritage Preservation Services.

World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Alabama Online Historical Newspapers - identifies historical archived and digitized newspapers available online on both and pay-to-access websites.

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Online Probate Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Alabama tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Alabama Taxation.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Alabama State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online $.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Alabama.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

  • 1881-1952 - Alabama, Deaths and Burials, 1881-1952 at FamilySearch Historical Records Collection
  • 1881–1974 Index to Deaths and Burials at Ancestry($); . Volunteers extracted the details in this index from microfilmed copies of church, civil, family, and other records of Alabama deaths and burials. details vary depending on the original record. Note that the number of available records can vary widely by county, and this database does not necessarily represent a comprehensive set of death records for the state during this time.
  • 1908-1959 Index to Deaths Recorded by the State of Alabama at Ancestry($); . The index includes name of the deceased, county of death, date of death, and the state certificate number (volume and page).
  • 1908-1974 - Alabama, Deaths, 1908-1974 at FamilySearch Historical Records Collection

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Mobile Municipal Archives
457 Church St.
Mobile, AL 36602
Phone: 251-208-7740
Mailing address:P. O. Box 1827
Mobile, AL 36633-1827
Website


Mobile County Probate Court Archives
P. O. Box 7
Mobile, AL 36633
251-574-4941
Website

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Libraries

Mobile Alabama Family History Center
5520 Ziegler Blvd
Mobile, Alabama 36608 United States
251-344-9270
Website

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Mobile County. For state-wide library facilities, see Alabama Archives and Libraries.


Mobile Public Library
Local History Dept.
700 Government Street
Mobile, AL 36602-1403
Phone: 251-340-1535
Website

Collections include local histories, newspaper clippings, city directories, censuses, probate index, military records, and more.

Museums[edit | edit source]

The Museum of Mobile
111 South Royal St.
Mobile, AL 36602
Phone: 251-434-7569
Website

Societies[edit | edit source]

Mobile Genealogical Society, Inc
P. O. Box 6224
Mobile, AL 36660-6224
Phone: 251-404-9918
Website

Publications: Deep South Genealogical Quarterly MGS Newsletter


Historic Mobile Preservation Society
300 Oakley Place
Mobile, AL 36604
Phone: 251-432-1281
Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Genealogy Trails History Group, "Mobile County, Alabama Genealogy and History", http://genealogytrails.com/ala/mobile/ 6/13/2017.
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Mobile, Alabama," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mobile_County,_Alabama 6/013/2017.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mobile County, Alabama. Page 37 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 33.
  6. Alabama Counties: Mobile County in Alabama Department of Archives and History (accessed 16 March 2014).
  7. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  8. Wikipedia contributors, "Mobile County, Alabama," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mobile_County,_Alabama, accessed 23 October 2018.
  9. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/c/cf/Igialabamals.pdf.
  10. 10.0 10.1 Coverage Table, "Alabama County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," FamilySearch Research Wiki, https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/Alabama_County_Marriages_(FamilySearch_Historical_Records), accessed 6 August 2012.
  11. Name Search at Genealogical.com is a comprehensive name index to 638 books and CDs published or reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Company (now Genealogical.com). For a complete list of the works included, see Publications in Name Search at Genealogical.com