To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Mohave County, Arizona Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Mohave County, Arizona ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Mohave County, Arizona
Mohave County, Arizona
Map
Map of Arizona highlighting Mohave County
Location in the state of Arizona
Map of the U.S. highlighting Arizona
Location of Arizona in the U.S.
Facts
Founded November 9, 1864
County Seat Kingman
Courthouse
Mohave County Arizona Courthouse.jpg
Address 401 E. Spring Street

P.O. Box 7000
Kingman, Arizona 86402
(928)753-0713


County Information[edit | edit source]

Mohave County, Arizona Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[1]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1887 1888 1887 1850 1863 1850 1830
*Statewide registration for births and deaths began in July 1909. General compliance by 1926

County Courthouse [edit | edit source]

Arizona Mohave Courthouse

Mohave County Courthouse
401 East Spring St
Kingman, Az 86041
Phone: 520-753-9141

Clerk Superior Court has marriage records from 1888,
Divorce, Probate and Court Records from 1850
County Records land records [2]


Mohave County is located in the northwest corner of Arizona, the county seat is Kingman, and it also contains the somewhat newer 'river city' known as Bullhead City, which is across the Colorado River from Laughlin, Nevada. Hoover Dam is also partly included in the county due to it being built to dam the Colorado River to create Lake Mead. The word 'Mohave' is a variant spelling of 'Mojave'.

Description[edit | edit source]

The County has Kingman as its seat and the County was created November 9, 1864. The County is located in the northwest area of the state.[3]

History[edit | edit source]

Parent County[edit | edit source]

10 Nov 1864 - Mohave County was created as one of the four original counties in Arizona. County seat: Kingman [10] [11] This county named for Mojave Indians. Look for records in Mohave County.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • 22 Dec 1865 - Arizona created Pah-Ute County (extinct) from the northern half of Mohave County.[12] This county named for the Paiute Indians, using the spelling of that day. Both Mohave and Pah-Ute counties covered land which was later given to Nevada. Look for records in Mohave County.
  • 5 May 1866 - The US removed the northwest corner from Arizona Territory (parts of Pah-Ute (extinct) and Mohave counties) and gave that land to the State of Nevada.[13] Nevada used that land by adding to Lincoln and Nye counties. But Arizona held to its previous claim on that land and opposed this transfer, twice petitioning congress to repeal the law. Up thru 1868, representatives from Pah-Ute County (extinct) attended the Arizona Legislature. Look for records in Nevada State Library and Archives and Arizona State Library. Also the Lincoln, Nye, and Mohave counties.
  • 18 Feb 1871 - Arizona discontinued Pah-Ute County (extinct).[14] In effect, withdrawing claim to the southeastern corner of Nevada after exhausting all legal recourse. The remnant of Pah-Ute County (extinct) still in Arizona was returned to Mohave County. Look for records in Mohave County.
  • 6 Mar 1883 - Arizona expanded Mohave County by adding land from Yavapai County, north of the Colorado River and west of Kanab Wash.[15] Look for records in Mohave and Yavapai counties

See also Previous Jurisdictions to Land in Arizona showing dates the jurisdictions were created and maps. This will help in determining what jurisdiction your ancestor lived in and where the records are now located.

For animated maps illustrating Arizona county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arizona County Boundary Maps" (1852-1993) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[16]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities
  • Fivemile Landing
  • Franconia
  • Grasshopper Junction
  • Greenwood
  • Native American communities
    Census-designated places
    Ghost towns


    Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]

    Resources[edit | edit source]

    Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

    Cemeteries of Mohave, Arizona online and in print
    Tombstone Transcriptions Online
    TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
    List of Cemeteries in the County
    See Arizona Cemeteries for more information

    The following web sites may have additional information on Mohave County cemeteries.

    Census[edit | edit source]

    For tips on accessing Mohave County, Arizona Genealogy census records online, see: Arizona Census.

    Church[edit | edit source]

    Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Arizona denominations, view the Arizona Church Records wiki page. Ward and Branch Records (The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints)

    • Kingman
    • Littlefield
    • Moccasin
    • Mt. Trumbull

    Court[edit | edit source]

    Mohave County Arizona Courthouse.jpg

    Land[edit | edit source]

    Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

    See Arizona Land and Property for additional information about early Arizona land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

    Recorded Land Records from 1 January 1970 to the present may be search online.

    All Recorded Land Records may be searched at

       Mohave County Recorders Office

       700 W. Beale Street
       Kingman, AZ 86402-0070
       928-753-0701
       928-753-0727

    Local Histories[edit | edit source]

    Local histories are available for Mohave County, Arizona Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Arizona Local Histories.

    Maps[edit | edit source]

    Lincoln CountyClark CountySan Bernardino CountyWashington CountyKane CountyCoconino CountyYavapai CountyLa Paz CountyAZ MOHAVE.PNG
    Click a neighboring county
    for more resources


    Military[edit | edit source]

    Civil War[edit | edit source]
    World War II[edit | edit source]

    Newspapers[edit | edit source]

    Mohave County Miner (Mineral Park, A.T. [Ariz.]) 1882-1918 is availble for free Online viewing.

    Finding More Arizona Newspapers[edit source]

    Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Mohave County, Arizona Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

    Obituaries[edit | edit source]

    Green check.png
    The usage of "Mormon" and "LDS" on this page is approved according to current policy.




    Probate[edit | edit source]

    From 1850 to 1864 during the territorial period, probate records of Arizona were kept by the probate courts of New Mexico. Then until 1912, the records were handled by county probate courts. Since then probate records, such as wills, claims, administrations, case files, and calendars are kept in the custody of the clerk of the superior court in the county courthouse.

    The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Subjects Search for Arizona, Mohave - Probate records.

    Online Probate Records

    Taxation[edit | edit source]

    Vital Records[edit | edit source]

    Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Arizona Department of Health Services , the county clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.

    Birth Records[edit | edit source]

    Online Birth Indexes and Records

    Marriage Records[edit | edit source]

    Online Marriage Indexes and Records

    Death Records[edit | edit source]

    Online Death Indexes and Records

    Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]

    Lake Havasu Genealogical Society
    P.O. Box 953
    Lake Havasu City, AZ 86405-0953
    Telephone 928-854-5447

    Mohave County Genealogical Society
    400 W. Beale St
    Kingman, AZ 86401
    Telephone 928-753-3195

    Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

    Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

    Kingman Arizona
    3180 Rutherford St
    Kingman, Mohave, Arizona, United States
    Phone: 928-753-1316

    Lake Havasu City Arizona
    504 N Acoma Blvd
    Lake Havasu City, Mohave, Arizona, United States
    Phone: 928-855-8583

    These are not mailing addresses. Due to limited staff, Family History Centers are unable to respond to mail inquiries.

    Websites[edit | edit source]

    References[edit | edit source]

    1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mohave County, Arizona. Page 56-57 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 52.
    2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mohave County, Arizona p. 56. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
    3. Wikipedia contributors, "Mohave, Arizona," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mohave_County,_Arizona 7/10/2017.
    4. Williams 108-110
    5. U.S. Stat., vol. 9, pp. 922-943; Parry, 102: 29-59; Van Zandt, 11, 28-29; Walker and Bufkin, 19, 20A
    6. William Thorndale, and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses, 1790-1920 (Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing, 1987), 26. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 X2th.
    7. Original Counties of New Mexico Territory (map) at nmcoun-orig.jpg (accessed 9 August 2011).
    8. N.M. Terr. Laws 1851, 1st assy., 2d sess. /p. 292
    9. U.S. Stat., vol. 12, ch. 56[1863]/pp. 664-665; Ariz. Terr. Laws 1864, 1st assy./ pp. vii-viii; Van Zandt, 162
    10. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
    11. Howell Code, Ariz. Terr. Laws 1864, 1st assy., ch. 2/ pp. 24-25
    12. Ariz. Terr. Laws 1865, 2d assy./ pp. 19-20
    13. U.S. Stat., vol. 14, ch. 73[1866]/p. 43; Van Zandt, 158, 165; Ariz. Terr. Laws 1867, 3rd assy./ pp. 67-68; Ariz. Terr. Laws 1868, 4th assy./ pp. 68-69
    14. Ariz. Terr. Laws 1871, 6th assy./ p. 87
    15. Ariz. Terr. Laws 1883, 12th assy./ p. 171
    16. Wikipedia contributors, "Maricopa County, Arizona," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Maricopa_County,_Arizona, accessed 23 February 2019.