To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Monkton, Kent Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Monkton, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Monkton, Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ringslow or Isle of Thanet
County Kent
Poor Law Union Thanet
Registration District Thanet
Records begin
Parish registers: 1700
Bishop's Transcripts: 1564
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Westbere
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

MONKTON (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of the Isle of Thanet, hundred of Ringslow, or Isle of Thanet, lathe of St. Augustine, E division of Kent, 6½ miles SW by W from Margate. [1]

Monkton is a village and civil parish in the Thanet district of Kent, see Monkton, Kent Wikipedia

Monkton St Mary Magdalene is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Canterbury; a map of the parish boundary is available at A church near you and the modern parish is in the Minster with Monkton benefice.

The Church of St Mary Magdalene, Monkton has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

See Kent Archaeological Society and Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 10 (1800), pp. 253-264 at British History Online and Kent Churches website

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Thanet Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House (Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Monkton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2][3][4]
KOPC = Kent Online Parish Clerks - free[5]
Monkton Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1700-1883 1700-1883 1700-1911 1700-1911 1700-1952 1700-1952
KOPC 1700-1883
1700-1753, 1813-1883
1700-1883

Land Tax 1689-1832[edit | edit source]

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Local Family History Centre[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 334-340. Date accessed: 17 April 2013.
  2. 'Canterbury baptism records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013.
  3. 'Canterbury marriage records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  4. 'Canterbury burial records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  5. Kent Online Parish Clerks, accessed 20 November 2013.