To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Montgomery County, Alabama Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Montgomery County, Alabama)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Montgomery County, Alabama ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Montgomery
Organized: December 6, 1816
Parent County(s): Monroe[1]
Neighboring Counties
Autauga  • Bullock  • Crenshaw  • Elmore  • Lowndes  • Macon  • Pike
See County Maps
Courthouse
Montgomery County, Alabama Courthouse.jpg
Location Map
Montgomery County Alabama.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named in honor of Lemuel P. Montgomery, a military officer killed at the Battle of Horseshoe Bend in the War of 1812. The County is located in the southcentral area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Montgomery County Courthouse
PO Box 1667
251 S Lawrence
Montgomery, AL 36102
Phone: 334-832-1260
Montgomery County Website

Probate Judge has marriage records from 1817, Probate Records from 1817 and land records from 1819
Alabama Dept of Archives and History has marriage records 1817-1928
Clerk of Board of revenue has divorce records from 1851 and court Records from 1817 [3]

Montgomery County, Alabama Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[4]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate Census
1908 1817 1908 1817 1816 1817 1816
*Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1908. General compliance for births by 1927 and for deaths 1925.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • 1816--Montgomery County was created 6 December 1816 from Monroe County.
  • County seat: Montgomery[5]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in Montgomery County:[6]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator.

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places
  • Camp Sheridan
  • Capitol Heights
  • Cloverdale
  • Cook Station
  • Dooley
  • Elam
  • Highland Park
  • Keelers
  • Kendall
  • Killough
  • McGehee
  • Old Elam
  • Pike Road
  • Pole Bridge
  • Porters
  • Robertson Crossroads
  • Snowdoun
  • Tuckers
  • Union Academy
  • Walkers


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Montgomery, Alabama online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Alabama Cemeteries for more information

The following web site has additional information on Montgomery county cemeteries.

  • Interment.net Alabama cemetery records by county.
  • Some Montgomery County cemeteries are included in Alabama Cemetery Records Vol. 1 at FamilySearch Digital Library

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For tips on accessing Montgomery County census records online, see: Alabama Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
18206,604
183012,69592.2%
184024,57493.6%
185029,71120.9%
186035,90420.8%
187043,70421.7%
188052,35619.8%
189056,1727.3%
190072,04728.3%
191082,17814.1%
192080,853−1.6%
193098,67122.0%
1940114,42016.0%
1950138,96521.5%
1960169,21021.8%
1970167,790−0.8%
1980197,03817.4%
1990209,0856.1%
2000223,5106.9%
2010229,3632.6%
Est. 2011232,0323.8%

State Census

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Alabama denominations, view the Alabama Church Records wiki page.

Ward and Branch Records of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

  • Montgomery

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

  • Montgomery County, Alabama Online Historical Directories - identifies historical city, county, business and other directories available online on both and pay-to-access websites.
  • 1878 Beale, Jesse D. City Directory and History of Montgomery, Alabama: With a Summary of Events in that History, Calendarically Arranged, Besides Other Valuable and Useful Information. Montgomery, Ala.: T.C. Bingham & Co., Printers and Binders, 1878. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • 1880-1895 - Montgomery, Alabama Directories, 1880-95 at Ancestry ($). Includes 1881-1881, 1883-1884, 1887, 1891, 1893, and 1895 city directories.

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African American

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Alabama Land and Property for additional information about early Alabama land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Montgomery County. The histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Alabama Local Histories.

  • Robertson, W. G. Recollections of the Early Settlers of Montgomery County, Alabama. Montgomery, Ala.: Society of Pioneers of Montgomery, 1961. Digital version at Ancestry

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

AutaugaElmoreMaconBullockPikeCrenshawLowndesAL MONTGOMERY.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War
Regiments. Men in Montgomery County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (part of a large regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Montgomery County:

- 1st Battalion, Alabama Artillery, Company A and E
- 1st Regiment, Alabama Cavalry, Company B, G and K
- 2nd Regiment, Alabama Cavalry, Company I, F and J
- 3rd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company F "Metropolitan Guards"
- 3rd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company G" Montgomery Free Blues"
- 6th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company D [subsequently, Company E]
- 6th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company G [subsequently, Company H]
- 7th Regiment, Alabama Cavalry, Company B, C, F and K
- 7th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company I(Mounted)
- 13th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company D and K
- 17th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company F
- 21st Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company B "Montgomery Guards"
- 22nd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company K
- 23rd Battalion, Alabama, Company G
- 31st Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company I
- 33rd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company H
- 34th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company A and H
- 46th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company E
- 51st Regiment, Alabama Partisan Rangers, Company H
- 58th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company K
- 60th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company C and F
- 61st Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company I


World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Alabama Online Historical Newspapers - identifies historical archived and digitized newspapers available online on both and pay-to-access websites.

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Online Probate Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Alabama tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Alabama Taxation.

  • 1865-1866 - U.S. IRS Tax Assessment Lists, 1862-1918 at Ancestry ($). Montgomery County is in District 2.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Alabama State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online $.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Alabama.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Montgomery County Archives
Courthouse Annex III
101 South Lawrence Street
P. O. Box 223
Montgomery, AL 36104
334-832-7173

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.


Montgomery Alabama Family History Center
3460 Carter Hill Rd
Montgomery, Alabama 36111
334-269-9041
Website

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Montgomery City-County Public Library
245 High Street
Montgomery, AL 36104
Phone: 334-625-4999
Website

There are a total of 10 Libraries and Branches of the Montgomery City-County Public Library. There is a listing for all locations on the website.

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Montgomery County Genealogical Society
P. O. Box 230194
Montgomery, AL 36123-0194
Website

Publication: MGS Quarterly

Society of Pioneers of Montgomery, Inc.
P. O. Box 413
Montgomery, AL 36101
Website

Montgomery County Historical Society
P. O. Box 1829
512 S. Court St.
Figh-Pickett-Barnes School House
Montgomery, AL 36102
Website

Publication:Montgomery County Historical Society Herald

Pintlala Historical Association
c/o Pintlala Public Library
255 Federal Rd.
Hope Hull, AL 36043
Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Genealogy Trails History Group, "Montgomery County, Alabama Genealogy and History", http://genealogytrails.com/ala/montgomery/ 6/13/2017.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Montgomery County, Alabama. Page 37 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 33.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Montgomery County, Alabama," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Montgomery_County,_Alabama, accessed 23 October 2018.