Moravia, Austro-Hungarian Empire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Austro-Hungarian
Empire Wiki Topics
Record Types
Saxony-Anhalt Background
Moravia, Austro-Hungarian Empire Genealogy

Guide to Moravia (Mähren) ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.



Historical Geography[edit | edit source]

Moravia (German:Mähren) is a historical country in the Czech Republic (forming its eastern part). The medieval and early modern Margraviate of Moravia was a crown land of the Lands of the Bohemian Crown (from 1348 to 1918), an imperial state of the Holy Roman Empire (1004 to 1806), later a crown land of the Austrian Empire (1804 to 1867) and briefly also one of 17 former crown lands of the Cisleithanian part of the Austro-Hungarian Empire from 1867 to 1918. During the early 20th century, Moravia was one of the five lands of Czechoslovakia from 1918 to 1928; it was then merged with Czech Silesia, and eventually dissolved by abolition of the land system in 1949. Though officially abolished by an administrative reform in 1949, Moravia is still commonly acknowledged as a specific land in the Czech Republic. Moravian people are considerably aware of their Moravian identity and there is some rivalry between them and the Czechs from Bohemia. (Moravia, Wikipedia)

Map of Historic Moravia (Mähren) Within the Czech Republlic[edit | edit source]

CZ Cechy Morava kraje.gif Screen Shot 2017-04-26 at 3.26.22 PM.png

For Austria-Hungary Research, You Must Know Your Ancestors' Town[edit | edit source]

  • To begin using the records of the countries formerly in the Austro-Hungarian Empire, just knowing that your family came from the country will not be enough. Records are kept on the local level, so you will have to know the town they lived in.
  • Details about the town will also help:
    • the county of that town,
    • where the closest Evangelical Lutheran, Catholic, Greek Orthodox, etc. parish church was (depending on their religion),
    • where the civil registration office was, and
    • if you have only a village name, you will need the name of the larger town it was part of.

Research to Find the Town[edit | edit source]

If you do not yet know the name of the town of your ancestor's birth, there are well-known strategies for a thorough hunt for it.

If You Know the Town, Next Use the GenTeam Gazetteer[edit | edit source]

GenTeam is an online gazetteer that covers the current countries of Austria, Czech Republic, and Slovenia (most of the area belonging to the Austro-Hungarian Empire). It gives former (German) and current names of locations, the name of the parish, the beginning year of the records, and the archive that holds the records. It will also give details on earlier parishes the locality belonged to. It then links to the website of that archive.

This is an example of a typical parish record entry that you will see:

Screen Shot 2017-04-26 at 7.22.07 PM.png

Research Help[edit | edit source]

For help with genealogy in this region, see Czech Republic Genealogy.

Online Records[edit | edit source]

Church records for the region are online at Brno Moravian Land Archives, online links here.

Microfilm Copies of Records at a Family History Center[edit | edit source]

If the locality and time period you need are not included in the online records, the next step is to check for them in the microfilm collection of the Family History Library. These microfilms may be ordered for viewing at Family History Centers around the world. To find a microfilm:

a. Click on "Places within Austria, Mähren" (Moravia)
b. Select your record type: Church records and civil registration are the most important.
c. Click on the blue links to specific record titles.
d. Choose the correct record type and time period for your ancestor.
e. Some combination of these icons will appear at the far right of the microfilm listed for the record. FHL icons.png. The magnifying glass indicates that the microfilm is indexed. Clicking on the magnifying glass will take you to the index. Clicking on the camera will take you to an online digital copy of the microfilm.