Mow Cop, Staffordshire Genealogy
Guide to Mow Cop, Staffordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Mow Cop, Staffordshire|
|Poor Law Union||Congleton; Stone; Wolstanton and Burslem|
|Registration District||Congleton; Wolstanton|
|Parish registers: 1842|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Rural Deanery||Newcastle under Lyme|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Staffordshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
Mowcop is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Staffordshire, created in 1843 from Wolstanton Ancient Parish, Keele Ecclesiastical Parish, Hanford Ecclesiastical Parish and Biddulph Ancient Parish; Exact boundary unknown. Non-Church of England denominations identified in Mowcop include: Primitive Methodist and Wesleyan Methodist.
The name is first recorded as "Mowel" around 1270 AD. It is believed to have come from either:
Anglo-Saxon Mūga-hyll = "heap-hill", with copp = "head" added later
The Common Celtic ancestor of Welsh moel (= hill), with Anglo-Saxon copp added later.
At its summit men had quarried stone to make into querns used for milling corn since the Iron Age; this trade ended in the Victorian period.
Mow Cop is noteworthy as the birthplace of the Primitive Methodist movement. Starting in 1800, Hugh Bourne from Stoke-on-Trent and William Clowes from Burslem began holding open-air prayer meetings. On 31 May, 1807 a large 14-hour camp meeting was held and as a result the Primitive Methodist Church was formed in 1810. These camp meetings became a regular feature at Mow Cop and camps were also held to celebrate the 100th, 150th and 200th anniversaries of the first camp.
Mow Cop is a village on a high isolated hill. The village straddles the Cheshire–Staffordshire border and is thus also divided between the North West and West Midlands regions of England.
Parts of the parish lie in the Cheshire East District since 1974 and part in Newcatle under Lyme District of Staffordshire. Accordingly parts of the parish lie in different Poor Law Unions and registration districts.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Find Neighboring Parishes[edit | edit source]
- Type the name of the parish in the search bar
- Click on the location pin on the map
- Choose Options from the pop up box
- Click "List Contiguous Parishes" to find the neighboring parishes
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD. Online index for Congleton registration district Cheshire BMD
See also Staffordshire BMD
Church Records[edit | edit source]
The Church of England (Anglican) became the official state religion in 1534, with the reigning monarch as its Supreme Governor.
Non-Conformist refers to all other religious denominations that are not the official state religion.
Church of England[edit | edit source]
Due to the increasing access of online records:
- Individual parish coverage for databases in this table are inconsistent and should be verified
- Dates in the following table are approximate
Hover over the collection's title for more information
|Mow Cop Online Parish Records|
|Parish Registers - FamilySearch Catalog|
|Bishop's Transcripts - FamilySearch Catalog|
|Find My Past Parish Registers -Staffordshire ($)|
|Find My Past Banns-Staffordshire ($)|
|Ancestry-Church of England BMD-Staffordshire ($)|
|Ancestry-Staffordshire, England & Wales, Birth, Christening, Marriage and Death Indexes ($)|
|Databases with Known Incomplete Parish Coverage|
|Boyd's Marriage Indexes-FMP (Free)|
|National Burial Index-FMP (Free)|
These databases have incomplete parish coverage.
- Joiner Marriage Index - Staffordshire ($)
- The Genealogist Parish Registers - Staffordshire ($)
- UK Websites for Parish Records - Links to online genealogical records
- Online Genealogical Index - Links to online genealogical records
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
Mow Cop Wesleyan Methodist Chapel parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|MOW COP WESLEYAN METHODIST CHAPEL (1854) Online Records|
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]