Nash County, North Carolina Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Nash County, North Carolina ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Nashville
Organized: 1777
Parent County(s): Edgecombe[1]
Neighboring Counties
Edgecombe  • Franklin  • Halifax  • Johnston  • Wake  • Warren  • Wilson
See County Maps
Courthouse
NorthCarolinaNashCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Nc-nash.png
Adoption
Adopt-a-wiki page
Logonew small.gif This page adopted by:
NCGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Nash County is located in the eastern portion of North Carolina and was named for Revolutionary War General Francis Nash.[2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Nash County Courthouse
120 W. Washington Street
Nashville, NC 27856
Phone: 252-459-9836
Nash County Website

Register of Deeds has birth and death records from 1913 and marriage records from 1872.
Clerk Superior Court has divorce and court records 1876.[3]

Nash County, North Carolina Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1913 1872 1913 1876 1869 1869 1784
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1913. General compliance by 1920.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • 1777 Nash County was created from Edgecombe County.
  • County seat: Nashville[5]

For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]

Cities
Towns
Census-designated places
Townships
  • Bailey
  • Battleboro
  • Castalia
  • Coopers
  • Dry Wells
  • Ferrells
  • Griffins
  • Jackson
  • Mannings
  • Nashville
  • North Whitakers
  • Oak Level
  • Red Oak
  • Rocky Mount
  • South Whitakers
  • Spring Hope
  • Stony Creek


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Nash County was formed in 1777 from the western part of Edgecombe County. It was named for American Revolutionary War Brigadier General Francis Nash (1742-1777) of Hillsborough, who had been mortally wounded at the Battle of Germantown that year while fighting under General George Washington. Nashville, the County seat, was settled in 1780 and chartered in 1815. After the Revolutionary War, the County settled down to a pace that made it one of the State's leading farm areas. Since the Civil War, it has been known primarily as a leading agricultural County, but it has experienced steady industrial growth since that time.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Nash County, North Carolina online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See North Carolina Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

{{Historical populations |type = USA |heading = Census |footnote = Source: [

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1790 7,390
1800 6,975 −5.6%
1810 7,268 4.2%
1820 8,185 12.6%
1830 8,490 3.7%
1840 9,047 6.6%
1850 10,657 17.8%
1860 11,687 9.7%
1870 11,077 −5.2%
1880 17,731 60.1%
1890 20,707 16.8%
1900 25,478 23.0%
1910 33,727 32.4%
1920 41,061 21.7%
1930 52,782 28.5%
1940 55,608 5.4%
1950 59,919 7.8%
1960 61,002 1.8%
1970 59,122 −3.1%
1980 67,153 13.6%
1990 76,677 14.2%
2000 87,420 14.0%
2010 95,840 9.6%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".


Church Records[edit | edit source]

Baptist

  • Falls of Tar. Constituted 1757.[7]
  • Poplar Spring. Constituted 1793.[7]

Presbyterian


List of Churches and Church Parishes

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African American

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

  • [Boddie] Leary, Helen F.M. "The Two William Boddies of North Carolina," The American Genealogist, Vol. 66, No. 1 (Jan. 1991):16-29; Vol. 62, No. 2 (Apr. 1991):106-110; Vol. 66, No. 3 (Jul. 1991):148-153. Available at FHL.
  • [Pridgen] Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library Pridgen family of Sapony Creek, Nash County, North Carolina some descendants of William Pridgen, d. ca. 1762, Vol. II.

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

The first land grants in the area date from 1743.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

NC Nash

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Revolutionary War

Civil War

Regiments. Men in Nash County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Nash County:

- 2nd Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
- 7th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
- 12th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company H
- 13th Battalion, North Carolina Infantry, Company B
- 1st Brigade, North Carolina Reserves, Company A
- 1st Regiment, North Carolina Junior Reserves, Company A
- 2nd Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry, Company E
- 2nd Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, 1st Company E
- 3rd Battalion, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Captain D W William's Company

World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

  • 1799-1893 Nash County marriages. Included in Carrie Broughton's 6-volume index of the Raleigh Register & State Gazette newspaper (1799-1893). Marriages are listed by year and PDF files are searchable. Available on the North Carolina Digital Collections website.
  • Nash County newspapers. Listing of newspapers published in the county. (Library of Congress)
  • North Carolina Newspaper Digitization Project. Full-text papers from 1752-1890s.
  • Nash County deaths. County area deaths reported in various newspapers; dates range from late 1700s to 1900s.

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Online Probate Records

The county's oldest will is at the Dept of Archives, Raleigh, NC.

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Nash County. For state-wide archival repositories, see North Carolina Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Nash County. For state-wide library facilities, see North Carolina Archives and Libraries.

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Nash County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see North Carolina Societies.

  • Tar River Connections Genealogical Society
    PO Box 8764
    Rocky Mount, NC 27803-8764
    Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. https://www.ncpedia.org/geography/nash
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Moore County, North Carolina. Page 511 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Nash County, North Carolina. Page 506-514 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 505-509.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Nash County, North Carolina," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nash_County,_North_Carolina, accessed 22 February 2020.
  7. 7.0 7.1 George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 1:488; 2:566. FHL Book 975.6 K2p 1990; "Falls of the Tar Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com, accessed 22 October 2012.