Netherton St Andrew, Worcestershire Genealogy
Guide to Netherton St Andrew, Worcestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Netherton St Andrew, Worcestershire|
|Poor Law Union||Dudley|
|Parish registers: None|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Worcester (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Worcestershire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
NETHERTON, a district chapelry in the united parishes of St. Thomas and St. Edmund, Dudley, union of Dudley, Lower division of the hundred of Halfshire, Dudley and E. divisions of the county of Worcester. Here are places of worship for Wesleyans, Baptists, Methodists of the New Connexion, and Primitive Methodists.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD. See West Midlands BMD and Staffordshire BMD
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Netherton St Andrew parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|NETHERTON ST ANDREW PARISH (1842) Online Records|
Netherton St Andrew is searchable under Dudley for FREG purposes. To search for the Dudley records inputted by Staffordshire FreeREG - select County as Staffordshire & within place select Dudley Staffs. Although most of Dudley is within Worcestershire - many of it's records are for people living in the surrounding Staffordshire Parishes. The Parish itself was always completely surrounded by Staffordshire and has been incorporated with other Staffordshire Parishes for Civil Registration purposes since 1837.
Dudley St Andrew Netherton for earlier registers see Dudley St Thomas, Worcestershire Dudley Archives has deposited Parish registers Bap 1844-1973 Marr 1845-1976 Bur 1842-1968.
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Worcestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place. England Jurisdictions 1851
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
Worcester Branch of the Birmingham and Midland Society for Genealogy and HeraldryAdd any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.</ref>