To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Nevada County, California Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Nevada County, California ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Nevada County, California
Map
Map of California highlighting Nevada County
Location in the state of California
Map of the U.S. highlighting California
Location of California in the U.S.
Facts
Founded April 25, 1851
County Seat Nevada city
Courthouse
CaliforniaNevadaCourthouse.jpg
Address Nevada County Courthouse
 950 Maidu Ave
Nevada City, CA 95959
Phone 530.265.1221

Nevada County Website


County Information[edit | edit source]

Nevada County, California Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[1]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1873 1856 1873 1880 1856 1880 1850
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1905. General compliance by 1920.

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Nevada County Courthouse
 950 Maidu Ave
Nevada City, CA 95959
Phone 530.265.1221


County Clerk has birth and death records from 1873
marriage and land records from 1856
probate and court records from 1880[2]

Historical Facts[edit | edit source]

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Nevada County, California

Parent County[edit | edit source]

25 April 1851: Nevada County was created from Yuba County. County seat: Nevada City [3]

Description[edit | edit source]

The county was named after the mining town of Nevada City, a name derived from the term "Sierra Nevada." The word nevada is Spanish for "snowy" or "snow-covered." The county seat Nevada City and the county was created April 25, 1851. The County is located in the east central area of the state.[4]

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

For animated maps illustrating California county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation California County Boundary Maps" (1850-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Records Loss[edit | edit source]

1856 and 1863: Courthouse burned twice and many records were damaged.

Places/Localities[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biography[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Nevada, California online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See California Cemeteries for more information

The following web sites may have additional information on Nevada County cemeteries.

Census[edit | edit source]

For tips on accessing Nevada County, California Genealogy census records online, see: California Census.

Church History and Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about California denominations, view the California Church Records wiki page.

Ward and Branch Records of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

  • Grass Valley

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Crime and Criminals[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Germans[edit | edit source]

Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

History[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Nevada County, California Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section California Local Histories.

Land and Property[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See California Land and Property for additional information about early California land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Maps[edit | edit source]

Yuba CountySierra CountyPlacer CountyWashoe CountyCA NEVADA.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration[edit | edit source]

Early migration routes to and from Nevada County, California Genealogy for emigrant settlers included:[5][6]

Military History and Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War[edit | edit source]

Regiments. Service men in Nevada County, California Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Nevada County, California Genealogy:

- 1st Regiment, California Infantry (Union), Company G
- 4th Regiment, California Infantry (Union), Company I
- 5th Regiment, California Infantry (Union), Company C
World War II[edit | edit source]

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Nevada County, California Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

  • NewspaperArchive.com ($) has a collection of digitized Reno, Nevada newspapers going back to 1870 that may include residents from Nevada County. This database is sometimes free at libraries.

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Online Probate Records

Repositories[edit | edit source]

Archives, Libraries and Museums[edit | edit source]

Searls Historical Library
161 Nevada City Hwy
Nevada City, CA 95959
(530) 265-5910

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Societies[edit | edit source]

Taxation[edit | edit source]

California tax records complement land records and can supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page California Taxation.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records. The State office has records since July 1905. For earlier records, contact the County Recorder. See also How to order California Vital Records

Birth[edit | edit source]
Marriage[edit | edit source]
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Death[edit | edit source]

Voting Registers[edit | edit source]

Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries[edit | edit source]

Nevada County Genealogical Society
PO Box 176
Cedar Ridge, CA 95924
Website

Nevada County Historical Society
P.O. Box 1300
Nevada City 95959
Website

Truckee-Donner Historical Society
P.O. Box 893
Truckee, CA. 96160
Website

Doris Foley Library for Historical Research
211 N. Pine Street
Nevada City, CA 95959
Open Wed - Sat 10-4
(530) 265-4606
Website


Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Nevada County, California. Page 84-88 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 81-83.
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Nevada County, California. Page 86 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "Nevada County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nevada_County,_California 05/04/2017.
  5. National Park Service, "California Trail" (map) in California National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/cali/planyourvisit/upload/CALImap1-web.pdf (accessed 5 August 2011).
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "California Trail" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/California_Trail (accessed 5 August 2012).
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "First Transcontinental Railroad" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/First_Transcontinental_Railroad (accessed 2 August 2011).