New Basford, Nottinghamshire Genealogy
Guide to New Basford, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
|New Basford, Nottinghamshire|
|County||Nottinghamshire, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Basford|
|Parish registers: 1849|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
BASFORD, a village, a parish, a subdistrict, and a district in Notts. The village is called also Old Basford. The parish includes also New Basford, Bagthorpe, Carrington, Sherwood, Mapperley, Two-mile House, Bagnall, White-Moor-Place, and part of the hamlet of Daybrook. The places of worship in 1851 were 43 of the Church of England, 4 of Independents, 23 of Baptists, 1 of Quakers, 1 of Unitarians, 29 of Wesleyan Methodists, 7 of New Connexion Methodists, 19 of Primitive Methodists, 3 of the Wesleyan Association, 5 of Wesleyan Reformers, 6 of Latter Day Saints.
New Basford is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Nottinghamshire, created in 1847 from Basford, Nottinghamshire Genealogy Ancient Parish.
The church of St Augustine of England was formed a parish in 1847 from the parish of Basford; the church was built in 1852, a south aisle was added in 1877. This church was demolished in 1989. You can view a photograph of this church at Picture the Past website
New Basford is a suburb of Nottingham for history of its development see Basford wikipedia
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
This area was from 1837 part of the Basford registration district
Church records[edit | edit source]
New Basford, Nottinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|New Basford, Nottinghamshire Genealogy Parish Online Records|
Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1849-1989 Marriages1877-1966
Nottinghamshire County Council
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Basford, New
Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan. Baptist Chapel, Pepper St. New Basford Church Register. 1877-1893. A listing of members, showing given name, surname, and address, and when and how received. Original is held at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref BP 5/1, transcription in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 129, pages 3-36, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n
Mount Street Methodist (Wesleyan) Chapel, New Basford, Nottingham, Baptisms 1830-1837. Transcription of baptisms from 1830-1837, giving date of birth, date of baptism, forename, and surname, father's name, occupation, maother's name and Registered number. Original at Public Record Office, Kew. Ref RG4/1729 folios 1-13, transcription in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine vol. 113, pages 78-81, FHL Ref. 942.52 D25n
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..