New Hampshire Directories
|New Hampshire Wiki Topics|
|New Hampshire Background|
|Local Research Resources|
Online Resources[edit | edit source]
- New Hampshire City Directories, index
- New Hampshire Online Historical Directories - listed by county
- Directory of the Ancestral Heads of New England Families, 1620-1700
Directories are alphabetical lists of names and addresses. City directories can help you learn where an ancestor lived. The person’s occupation is frequently given. Often the home address and business address are both mentioned. When a husband dies, many times the widow is listed as "widow of...."
Directories can help you determine which jurisdictional ward the family lived in if you are searching census records for a particular time period in a big city. Directories sometimes have maps and addresses of churches, cemeteries, courthouses, and other important locations.
Resources for New Hampshire Directories[edit | edit source]
Libraries and Archives[edit | edit source]
Public libraries often have city directories for their areas. College and university libraries often have larger collections of city directories. For lists of these libraries with contact information, see PublicLibraries.com and SearchBug.com
The Portsmouth Public Library has a complete run of Portsmouth City Directories beginning in 1821.
Portsmouth Public Library
175 Parrott Avenue
Portsmouth, NH 03801
Directories Online[edit | edit source]
Ancestry.com ($) has New Hampshire directories available online in its U.S. City Directories collection.
The Family History Library[edit | edit source]
The Family History Library has the following, some on microfilm, some on microfiche:
- Concord 1830–1935 (gaps)
- Dover 1830–1935 (gaps)
- Great Falls 1848 (now Somersworth)
- Keene 1827, 1830, 1831, 1871–1935 (gaps)
- Manchester 1844–1935 (gaps)
- Nashua 1841–1935 (gaps)
- New Hampshire 1849
- New Ipswich 1858
- Peterborough 1830
- Portsmouth 1817–1935 (gaps)
To locate the source numbers for the directories at the Family History Library, use the Place Search.
Example: NEW HAMPSHIRE, [COUNTY], [TOWN] - DIRECTORIES
For more information about the Library Catalog, see FamilySearch Catalog.
[edit | edit source]
- US City Directories This web site identifies printed, microfilmed, and online directories and their repositories.