To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

New Mexico Census

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
New Mexico Wiki Topics
New Mexico flag.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
New Mexico Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
Moderator
The FamilySearch moderator for New Mexico is James Tanner

Online Resources[edit | edit source]

New Mexico State Censuses Online[edit | edit source]


Tips
  • If at first you don't find a name, try again under another spelling.
  • Photocopy each ancestor's census. Identify where you found it.
  • Look for an ancestor in every census during her or his lifetime.
  • On the family group record show each person's census listings.
  • Study others in the same household, neighbors, and anyone with the similar names nearby on the census in community context.


  • For a list of the exact date of each federal census, click here.

Online New Mexico indexes and images[edit | edit source]

1910-1940[edit source]

Online Federal and State Population Schedules of New Mexico 
  Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card)* Pay
Family
Search[1]
Internet Archive[2]  Misc.  Heritage Quest[3] Fold3[4] Ancestry FHL[5] Ancestry Library[5] Ancestry Home[5] Archives[6] Family Link[7]
1940 indexes Link - Link
Link
- - Link Link Link - -
images Link - Link
Link
Link
- - Link Link Link Link


Link
1930 indexes Link - - - Link Link Link Link Link


-
images Link Link - Link Link Link Link Link - Link
1920 indexes Link - - Link - Link Link Link Link


-
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1910 indexes Link - - Link - Link Link Link Link


-
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link

1850-1900[edit source]

Online Federal and State Population Schedules of New Mexico 
  Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card)* Pay
Family
Search[1]
Internet Archive[2]  Misc.  Heritage Quest[3] Fold3[4] Ancestry FHL[5] Ancestry Library[5] Ancestry Home[5] Archives[6] Family Link[7]
1900 indexes Link Soundex - Link - Link Link Link Link


-
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1880 indexes Link Soundex - Link - Link Link Link Link


-
images - Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1870 indexes Link - - Link - Link Link Link Link


-
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1864 Territorial indexes - - - - - Link Link Link - -
images - - - - - Tran-
script
Tran-
script
Tran-
script
- -
1860[8] indexes Link - - Link Link Link Link Link Link


Link


images Link Link - Link Link Link Link Link - Link
1850 indexes Link - - - - Link Link Link Link


-
images Link Link - - - Link Link Link - Link
  Family Search Internet Archive Misc.  Heritage Quest Fold3 Ancestry FHL  Ancestry Library  Ancestry Home Archives Family Link
Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card) Pay


Federal population schedules[edit | edit source]

Microfilm images[edit | edit source]

Federal Census Microfilms Available from the Family History Library
1940 N/A 1910 and Soundex 1870 
1930 1900 and Soundex 1860
1920 and Soundex 1880 and Soundex 1850


Federal Census Microfilms Available from the National Archives
1940 N/A 1910 T624  1870 M593
1930 T626 1900 T623 and Soundex T1061 1860 M653
1920 T625 and Soundex M1577 1880 T9 and Soundex T764 1850 M432

Indexes: fiche, film, or book[edit | edit source]

For a list of microform and book indexes for the population schedules of New Mexico, click here

Federal non-population schedules[edit | edit source]

Online indexes and images[edit | edit source]

Online Federal Non-Population Schedules for New Mexico

Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with library card) Pay
Year Type Record Search Heritage Quest Ancestry FHL Ancestry Library Ancestry Home
1890 Veterans - - Link Link Link
1885 Mortality - - - - -

Microfilm images[edit | edit source]

School census of Navajo indians 1957,1961 Indian census rolls, Zuni, 1904-1935
Indian census rolls, Eastern Navajo, 1929-1935 Agency records, 1878-1926
Albuquerque school indian rolls, 1904-1907,1910,1911


  • 1870, 1860, 1850--The New Mexico State Historical Society in Santa Fe has mortality schedules. These records are not at the Family History Library.

Indexes: fiche, film, or book[edit | edit source]

For a list of microform and book indexes for the non-population schedules of New Mexico, click here.

State, territorial, and colonial censuses[edit | edit source]

New Mexico took several censuses in the years between the federal censuses. The dates are listed below. State census records may have columns that were different or more unusual than those found on federal censuses. The responses and years of coverage may give additional information on the family.

  • 1885 Federal census of New Mexico Territory.

1845, 1830, 1827, 1826, 1823, 1822, 1816, 1802, 1790, and 1750-- Mexican and Spanish colonial censuses exist. The colonial censuses include the wife's maiden name. These censuses are incomplete and do not include all families in New Mexico.

The colonial censuses are available at:

  • The New Mexico Records Center and Archives
  • The University of New Mexico Library
  • The Family History Library.

They have been transcribed and indexed in:

  • Olmsted, Virginia L. Spanish and Mexican Colonial Censuses of New Mexico: 1790, 1823, 1845. Albuquerque, New Mexico: New Mexico Genealogical Society, 1975. (Family History Library book 978.9 X2o.)
  • Olmsted, Virginia L. Spanish and Mexican Censuses of New Mexico: 1750-1830. Albuquerque, New Mexico: New Mexico Genealogical Society, 1981. (Family History Library book 978.9 X2ov 1750-1830.)

Existing and lost censuses[edit | edit source]

For a list of available and missing New Mexico censuses, click here.

Why use a census?[edit | edit source]

A well-indexed census is one of the easiest ways to locate where an ancestor's family lived and when they lived there. You can also use censuses to follow the changes in a family over time, and identify neighbors. These and other clues provided by censuses are important because they help find additional kinds of records about the family.

More about censuses[edit | edit source]

Click here for additional details about how to use censuses, such as:

Sources and footnotes[edit | edit source]

  1. 1.0 1.1 FamilySearch, a free online service of the Family History Library, including free images of many federal censuses, including an index of the 1880 federal census of the United States; connected with 1880 census images provided by Ancestry.com, a subscription site.
  2. 2.0 2.1 Internet Archive, a free online service includes free images of most of the federal censuses.
  3. 3.0 3.1 HeritageQuest has arranged with many subscribing public libraries in the United States to allow users free access on home computers by means of their personal library card numbers. HeritageQuest provides images of all surviving 1790 to 1930 federal censuses, and indexes to many but not all of them.
  4. 4.0 4.1 Fold3, formerly known as Footnote.com, a subscription site partnering with the National Archives and includes some federal censuses. Free access is available at many public libraries.
  5. 5.0 5.1 5.2 5.3 5.4 5.5 Ancestry.com, a subscription site that provides online indexes and images to all surviving federal and many state census records, among other sources. They have three online editions: (1) an FHL edition free only at the Family History Library and a few Family History Centers, (2) a slightly smaller Library edition free only at some public libraries, and (3) a Home edition subscription service for individuals.
  6. 6.0 6.1 Archives.com, a subscription site that provides online indexes and images to all surviving federal census records, among other sources.
  7. 7.0 7.1 FamilyLink.com, a subscription site that provides online images (and some indexes) to all surviving federal and many state census records, among other sources.
  8. The 1860 boundaries of New Mexico Territory included much of present-day New Mexico and Arizona and parts of Nevada and Colorado. The 1860 ensus enumerations exist only for present-day Arizona (as Arizona County) and New Mexico.

To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.