New Romney with Hope, Kent Genealogy
Guide to New Romney with Hope, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|New Romney with Hope, Kent|
New Romney St Nicholas Kent
|Hundred||Romney Marsh Liberty|
|County||Kent, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Romney Marsh|
|Registration District||Romney Marsh|
|Parish registers: 1662; Separate registers exist for Hope beginning 1589|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1564|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Canterbury|
|Location of Archive|
|Kent History and Library Centre|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
ROMNEY, NEW (St. Nicholas), a decayed market-town, a Cinque Port, and parish, having separate jurisdiction, in the union of Romney Marsh, E division of Kent, 34 miles SE from Maidstone, and 68 SE by E from London. Here are places of worship for Baptists and Wesleyans. 
New Romney is a small town in Romney Marsh in the Shepway district of Kent, see New Romney Wikipedia
New Romney St Nicholas is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Canterbury; a map of the modern parish boundary is available at A church near you
The Parish Church of St Nicholas, Church Road, New Romney has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building
See Edward Hasted 'The town and port of New Romney', The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 8 (1799), pp. 446-464. Date accessed: 30 September 2013. at British History Online and Kent Churches
The ruined church of Hope All Saints and parish were incorporated into the parish of St Mary in the Marsh, Kent Genealogy in 1934. The Ruins of the Church of All Saints Hope, St Mary in the Marsh have been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building See Edward Hasted 'Parishes: Hope All Saints', The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 8 (1799), pp. 415-420 at British History Online
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.
The Mansion House (Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Kent TN1 1EP
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
New Romney with Hope parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers (FamilySearch) - free|
|MIDK = Mid-Kent Marriage Index 1754-1911 - free|
|New Romney with Hope Online Parish Records|
|FS PRs||1662-1742, 1754-1783, 1813-1901||1662-1742, 1754-1783, 1838-1876||1662-1742, 1754-1783, 1803-1843|
Original deposited registers are held at Kent History and Library Centre.
Land Tax[edit | edit source]
- Images for New Romney are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments - FamilySearch Historical Records 1689-1832
- Images for Hope 1780-1831
- The hundred of Langport See Edward Hasted 'The hundred of Langport: Introduction', The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 8 (1799), pp. 415 at British History Online
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images
Census Records[edit | edit source]
FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through Family History Center Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
- Category:England Family History Centres to locate local Family History Centres in UK
- Introduction to Family History Centers to locate outside UK.
- Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.
Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable).
The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Local Family History Centre[edit | edit source]
- Family History Center Portal This centre has access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access in the centre to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
- Publication of the restricted access images England, Kent, Wills and Probate - FamilySearch Historical Records and England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments - FamilySearch Historical Records means that it is advisable to telephone the centre to reserve a computer if you wish to view these.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 690-695. Date accessed: 06 May 2013.
- 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
- 'England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 13 November 2013.
- 'Mid-Kent Marriage Index 1754-1911,' Woodchurch Ancestry Group, accessed 16 January 2014. Described as two separate parishes: 'New Romney' and 'Hope All Saints.'