Newchapel, Staffordshire Genealogy
Guide to Newchapel, Staffordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|County||Staffordshire, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Wolstanton and Burslem|
|Parish registers: 1723|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1726|
|Rural Deanery||Newcastle under Lyme|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield and Coventry (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Staffordshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
THURSFIELD, or New-Chapel, a chapelry, in the parish of Wolstanton, union of Wolstanton and Burslem, N. division of the hundred of Pirehill and of the county of Stafford, 6½ miles (N. by E.) from Newcastle.
In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Newchapel like this:
THURSFIELD, or Newchapel, a chapelry in Wolstanton parish, Stafford; 1½ mile E by N of Kidsgrove-Junction r. station, and 3 N of Burslem. It was constituted in 1846; it extends much beyond T. proper, or T. township; and it has a post-office, of the name of Newchapel, under Stoke-upon-Trent.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Newchapel St James the Apostle was formed in 1715 from part of Wolstanton, Staffordshire Genealogy
Newchapel parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Staffordshire Parish Register Collection (findmypast) - (£)|
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|FS = FamilySearch - free|
|NEWCHAPEL PARISH Online Records|
|FS||1726-1782, 1805-1809, 1814-1856|
Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1723-1906 Mar 1741-1910 (partly BT's) Bur 1724-1897
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1662-1881 Mar 1742-1755 Bur 1662-1881
Many of Staffordshire's Parish Register entries have been transcribed in full by Staffordshire Freereg and can be searched for free.
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Reference[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 351-355. Date accessed: 05 November 2012.
- 'Staffordshire Parish Records Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 23 July 2014.
- 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 14 August 2014.
- 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (N-Z), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 23 September 2013.