Newfoundland and Labrador Census
Jump to navigation
Jump to search
| Newfoundland & Labrador Wiki Topics | |
 | |
| Beginning Research | |
| Record Types | |
| Newfoundland & Labrador Background | |
| Cultural Groups | |
| Local Research Resources | |
Contents
Online Records[edit | edit source]
- Newfoundland, Canada Census Records CensusFinder
- Newfoundland's Grand Banks Census - starting as early as 1675
- Acadian census and church records
- 1675-1891, 1921 - Miscellaneous portions of census records for Newfoundland, 1675-1891, 1921 (Can be used at a Family History Center near you.)
- 1671-1809 - Acadian Censuses at WikiTree 1671-1809
- 1671-1752 - Acadian Censuses at Acadian-Cajun Genealogy and History, 1671-1752
- 1604-1921 - Head of Family Returns and Nominal Census, 1604-1921 at NB GenLinks
- 1770 - 1770 census Nova Scotia (includes Newfoundland), incomplete.
- Newfoundland Census, 1921
- Newfoundland, Canada, Census, 1921, index and images, ($)
- Newfoundland Census, 1935
- Newfoundland, Canada, Census, 1935, index and images, ($)
- Newfoundland Census, 1945
- Newfoundland, Canada, Census, 1945, ($)
- NL GenWeb 1881 England Census, Entries reporting Newfoundland as place of birth
- Newfoundland's Grand Banks Census, Fishing Rooms and Planter Listings
- New France Archives New France, for the purposes of this site, is made-up of Canada, Acadia, Newfoundland, the Great Lakes region and Louisiana. The documents in this database date mainly from the early 16th century until the Treaty of Paris in 1763, including some documents after this period.
Online Canadian Indexes and Images[edit | edit source]
As Newfoundland did not become a province of Canada until 1949, it was not included in the Canadian census returns of 1851 to 1911.
| Online National and Provincial Population Schedules of Canada | ||||||||
| Free | Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card)* | Pay | ||||||
| Family Search[1] |
Automated Genealogy[2] | Library Archives Canada[3] | Ancestry FHL[4] | Ancestry Library[5] | Ancestry Home[6] | |||
| 1921 | indexes | - | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | |
| images | - | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | ||
Earlier Census Records[edit | edit source]
- Finding Aid 300: Other census and related documents (1640 to 1945) Acadia (1671 to 1763), New Brunswick (1773 to 1848), Newfoundland and Labrador (1671 to 1945)
- Newfoundland, Canada Census Records CensusFinder
French[edit | edit source]
- New France Archives New France, for the purposes of this site, is made-up of Canada, Acadia, Newfoundland, the Great Lakes region and Louisiana. The documents in this database date mainly from the early 16th century until the Treaty of Paris in 1763, including some documents after this period.
- Acadian census and church records
- 1671-1809 - Acadian Censuses at WikiTree 1671-1809
- 1671-1752 - Acadian Censuses at Acadian-Cajun Genealogy and History, 1671-1752
- 1604-1921 - Head of Family Returns and Nominal Census, 1604-1921 at NB GenLinks
- 1770 - 1770 census Nova Scotia (includes Newfoundland), incomplete.
In general, the French records are for Plaisance (Placentia) which French held from 1650 -1711. The town was given up to the British in 1711 . They are transcripts of copies at the National Archives of Canada. The original records are in France. The French had some limited fishing rights on the island but were not allowed to settle on the island of Newfoundland which was Britain's oldest colony.
- 1671, 1673, 1691, 1693 Names all household members.
- 1698, 1704,1706, 1711 Names head of household only.
(All of the above census records are available at the National Archives of Canada. Transcripts of most of these are in “Mémoires de la Société Généalogique Canadienne-Française,” vols. 10-11.)
British[edit | edit source]
- 1604-1921 - Head of Family Returns and Nominal Census, 1604-1921 at NB GenLinks
- 1770 - 1770 census Nova Scotia (includes Newfoundland), incomplete.
- 1796 Names heads of households for St. John’s.
- 1800–1801 Names heads of households for Trinity Bay.
- 1836–1951 Names statistical abstracts.
- 1911 Names all household members only for Fogo and Port de Grave.
- 1921 Names all household members. Does not include the districts of Bay de Verde, Bonavista, Fogo, and Labrador.
- 1935, 1945 Names all household members for entire province.
(These censuses are available at the Provincial Archives of Newfoundland and Labrador (P.A.N.L.)
Distance Research in Archives[edit | edit source]
For census and other records not digitized and available online, there are options for obtaining information from and/or copies of them through distance research.
Provincial Archives of Newfoundland and Labrador[edit | edit source]
Library and Archives Canada[edit | edit source]
- Ask Us a Question
- Copy services at Library and Archives Canada
- Microfilms available at other institutions
- Hire a Freelance Researcher
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ FamilySearch, a free online service of the Family History Library.
- ↑ Automated Genealogy, a free online service includes links to free images found at the Library and Archives Canada.
- ↑ Library Archives Canada, a free online service includes links to free images and partial indexes found at the Library and Archives Canada.
- ↑ Ancestry.com, a subscription site that provides online indexes and images to all surviving national and many provincial census records, among other sources. They have three online editions: (1) an FHL edition free only at the Family History Library and a few Family History Centers, (2) a slightly smaller Library edition free only at some public libraries, and (3) a Home edition subscription service for individuals.
- ↑ Ancestry.com, a subscription site that provides online indexes and images to all surviving national and many provincial census records, among other sources. They have three online editions: (1) an FHL edition free only at the Family History Library and a few Family History Centers, (2) a slightly smaller Library edition free only at some public libraries, and (3) a Home edition subscription service for individuals.
- ↑ Ancestry.com, a subscription site that provides online indexes and images to all surviving federal and many state census records, among other sources. They have three online editions: (1) an FHL edition free only at the Family History Library and a few Family History Centers, (2) a slightly smaller Library edition free only at some public libraries, and (3) a Home edition subscription service for individuals.
| ||||
