Newham, London Borough Genealogy
Guide to London Borough of Newham history, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
History[edit | edit source]
This new Greater London Borough was formed by merging the former area of the Essex county borough of East Ham and the county borough of West Ham as a borough of the newly formed Greater London, on 1 April 1965 - these in turn were successors to the ancient civil and ecclesiastical parishes of East Ham and West Ham. Green Street and Boundary Road mark the former boundary between the two. North Woolwich also became part of the borough (previously being in the Metropolitan Borough of Woolwich, south of the river Thames in the County of London) along with a small area west of the River Roding which had previously been part of the Municipal Borough of Barking. Newham was devised for the borough as an entirely new name.
The area of the modern borough was at one time occupied by a territory called 'Ham'.
The first known written use of the term, as 'Hamme', is in an Anglo-Saxon charter of 958, and again in the 1086 Domesday Book as Hame. It is formed from Old English 'hamm' and means 'a dry area of land between rivers or marshland', referring to the location of the settlement within boundaries formed by the rivers Lea, Thames and Roding and their marshes.
These natural boundaries suggest that Little Ilford, North Woolwich and areas of the parish of Barking west of the Roding are likely to have been part of Ham(me).
The territory was subdivided into the more familiar West and East Ham sometime in the 12th century, with the earliest recorded distinction being as 'Westhamma' in 1186. It could be speculated that the partition arose as a result of population increase resulting from economic prosperity delivered by the construction of Bow Bridge over the Lea and the creation of Stratford Langthorne Abbey.
North Woolwich was removed from Ham at an earlier date, in the aftermath of the Norman Conquest but it is unclear when Little Ilford and western Barking were transferred, and it is not known for sure that they were part of Ham.
The boundary between West and East Ham was drawn from the now lost Hamfrith Waste and Hamfrith Wood in the north (then the southernmost parts of Epping Forest which extended as far south as the Romford Road at that time), along Green Street down to the small, similarly lost, natural harbour known as Ham Creek.
The formation of the modern borough in 1965 saw the merger of West and East Ham, together with North Woolwich and Barking west of the River Roding (Little Ilford had become part of East Ham as part of earlier local government reorganizations). This reorganization effectively re-established the earlier territory of Ham. 
As with the other newly formed London Boroughs, it would be wise for anyone seeking Genealogical data to also consider accessing all relevant information from the former county location of Essex.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries (Civil)[edit | edit source]
City of London Cemetery and Crematorium
London E12 5DQ
Phone: +44 20 8530 2151
East London Cemetery
London E13 0HB
Phone: +44 20 7476 5109
West Ham Cemetery
Forest Gate E7 9DG
Phone: +44 20 3373 1193
Woodgrange Park Cemetery
273 Sherrard Rd
London E7 8AX, UK
Manor Park Cemetery and Crematorium
Forest Gate, London E7 0NP
Phone: +44 20 8534 1486
East Ham Jewish Cemetery
East Ham, London E6 3QG
Phone: +44 20 8950 7767
St Patrick's Roman Catholic Cemetery
10C N Birkbeck Rd
London E11 4JG
338 Strone Rd
London E12 6TN
3 Meadow Cl
Barking IG11 9QE
Phone: +44 20 8270 4740
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Parishes[edit | edit source]
London E15 1NG
Phone: +44 20 8503 1913
London E15 3HU
Phone: +44 20 8519 0764
London E16 4NT
Phone: +44 20 7474 0709
Emmanuel's Parish Church
London E7 8BD
Phone: +44 20 8522 1900
Lorne R<br London E7 0LJ
Phone: +44 20 8519 8206
London E12 6PB
Phone: +44 20 8472 2777
Non Conformists[edit | edit source]
Other Christian and non-christian groups follow:
- Christ Church
- Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints
- Elim Christian Center
- Ethiopian Christian Fellowship
- First Church of Christ Scientist
- Jehovah's Witness
- London Riverside Church
- Roman Catholic
- Stratford Unitarian Church
Non Christian groups that meet regularly in Bournemouth include:
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the UK government, from July 1837 to the present day.
Newham does have a dedicated Records office as listed below:
Newham Register Office
Newham Town Hall
East Ham, E6 2RP
Other sources for BMD information follow:
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Occupations[edit | edit source]
Newham has the second-least vibrant economy in the country, a new report by an international accountancy firm has claimed. Grant Thornton UK LLP released its Vibrant Economy Index today – which measures prosperity, health, wellbeing, house prices, happiness and equality alongside more traditional indicators – and put Newham next to last.
Compared to the rest of London, and the UK as a whole, Newham has a high level of unemployment. The total number of residents unemployed is 10,300 This is 5.7% of the population, as compared with the rest of London at 5.3% and the rest of Britain at 4.4%.
Newham does not have any of the major UK or European companies either headquartered there, or indeed, with a local area HQ. Instead employment that is available is either in the retail field, or is in other areas of the Capital City. Consequently there is little or no potential sites for occupational growth within the Council.
According to the research group, Research in Action, there are 10 major reasons for Newham's malaise. These follow:
1) Poor housing and low pay are the key issues in Newham.
2) The London borough of Newham is not a living wage employer.
3) Un-affordable housing is not just about cuts or market failure: It was Mayoral policy.
4) Spending on social housing in Newham has declined by approximately 50% since 2010.
5) One in every 25 People in Newham is homeless.
6) Newham has highest debt per person of any London borough & pays the highest interest rates in the UK.
7) More than 1,500 Newham residents received a visit from bailiffs in 2016 over unpaid Council Tax debt.
8) Newham Council reserves have increased 560% since 2010 – while the Council has been making cuts.
9) Newham is a gambling Mecca – and the Council is financially reliant upon the industry.
10) Newham’s pension fund invests In Cayman Island hedge funds.
Societies[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "London Borough of Newham," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/London_Borough_of_Newham#History, accessed 3 May, 2018.
- Research for Action, UK, "Newham Council is the UK Debt Capital", https://researchforaction.uk/10-reasons-newham-council-is-the-uks-debt-capital, accessed 8 May, 2018.