Newmarket All Saints, Cambridgeshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Newmarket All Saints, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Newmarket All Saints, Cambridgeshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Cheveley
County Cambridgeshire, England Genealogy
Poor Law Union Newmarket
Registration District Newmarket
Records begin
Parish registers: 1622; For more records see Wood Ditton (Suffolk)
Bishop's Transcripts: 1594
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Fordham
Diocese Pre-1837 - Norwich; Post-1836 - Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Sudbury
Location of Archive
Cambridgeshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

NEWMARKET, the head of a union, and a market town, comprising the parish of St. Mary in the hundred of Lackford, W division of Suffolk, and the parish of All Saints in the hundred of Cheveley, county of Cambridge, 13 miles NE by E from Cambridge, and 61 NNE from London, on the road to Norwich. There is a place of worship for Independents.[1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Newmarket parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

1813 = Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) (findmypast) - (£)[2]
Newmarket Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
1813

1814-1837


Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]

None

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Newmarket All Saints on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 394-398. Date accessed and adapted: 08 July 2013.
  2. 'Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 9 December 2013.