Newtimber, Sussex Genealogy
Guide to Newtimber, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Cuckfield|
|Parish registers: 1558|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1606|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
NEW-TIMBER (St. John the Evangelist), a parish, in the union of Cuckfield, hundred of Poynings, rape of Lewes, E. division of Sussex, 7 miles (N. N. W.) from Brighton.
Newtimber St John the Evangelist is an Ancient Parish in West Sussex. The district is now called Nyetimber and is in the Arun district of West Sussex.
Church History Newtimber St John
The Parish Church of St John the Evangelist has been designated a grade II* listed building British listed building
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
This parish was part of Cuckfield registration district from September 1837. see further details To apply for certificates please contact
Centralised Certificates Office
West Sussex Record Office
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Newtimber, Sussex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|Newtimber, Sussex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Newtimber St John the Evangelist
West Sussex Record Office has deposited parish Registers Bap1558-1670, 1733-1997 Marr 1558-1616, 1733-1998 Bur 1588-1680,1733-1997 Bishop's Transcripts 1606-1894
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Newtimber
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.