Newton (near Harston), Cambridgeshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Newton (near Harston), Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Newton (near Harston), Cambridgeshire
Type Ancient parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Thriplow
County Cambridgeshire, England Genealogy
Poor Law Union Chesterton
Registration District Chesterton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1557
Bishop's Transcripts: 1599
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Barton
Diocese Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Ely (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cambridgeshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

Newton, is a parish in Chesterton district, Cambridgeshire; it is 1¼ mile SE of Harston railway station and 6 miles SW of Cambridge. The post-office is under Cambridge.[1]

Also known as Newton near Cambridge.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Newton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS BTs = FamilySearch Bishop's Transcripts - free[2]
Newton Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS BTs
1599-1852 1599-1852
1599-1852

Parish registers for Newton, near Harston, 1557-1905 at FHL

Bishop's transcripts for Newton (near Harston), 1599-1852 have been digitised.

An indexed transcription of the parish registers of Newton near Cambridge, 1557-1950: baptisms, 1560-1950; marriages, 1557-1950; burials, 1560-1950; banns, 1754-1832 [later register lost]

Newton (near Cambridge), Cambridgeshire: baptisms, 1830-1969; marriages, 1828-1987; burials, 1813-1988

Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]

None

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Newton Near Cambridge on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870. Adapted. Date accessed: 10 January 2014.
  2. FamilySearch Catalog. Accessed 12 April 2016.