Newton Reigny, Cumberland Genealogy
Guide to Newton Reigny, Cumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Newton Reigny, Cumberland|
|County||Cumberland, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Penrith|
|Parish registers: 1571|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1662|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Carlisle (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Cumberland Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
NEWTON-REGNY, or newton-Rainey, a village, a township, and a parish, in Penrith district, Cumberland. The village stands adjacent to the Penrith and Cockermouth railway, 1½ mile E of Blencow r. station, and 3 N W of Penrith; and has a post-office, of the name of Newton-Regny, under Penrith. The township includes the village, and extends into the country. 
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Newton Reigny, Cumberland Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|PRTs = Parish Register Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free|
|NEWTON REIGNY PARISH Online Records|
Records on microfilm
Parish registers for Newton-Regny, 1571-1969
Bishop's transcripts for Newton-Regny, 1662-1871
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Newton Reigny on GENUKI