Nicholas County, West Virginia Genealogy
Guide to Nicholas County, West Virginia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
Contents
- 1 County Information
- 2 Resources
- 2.1 Bible Records
- 2.2 Biographies
- 2.3 Business, Commerce, and Occupations
- 2.4 Cemeteries
- 2.5 Census Records
- 2.6 Church Records
- 2.7 Court Records
- 2.8 Directories
- 2.9 Emigration and Immigration
- 2.10 Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups
- 2.11 Funeral Homes
- 2.12 Genealogies
- 2.13 Guardianship
- 2.14 Land and Property Records
- 2.15 Local Histories
- 2.16 Maps and Gazetteers
- 2.17 Migration
- 2.18 Military Records
- 2.19 Naturalization and Citizenship
- 2.20 Newspapers
- 2.21 Obituaries
- 2.22 Other Records
- 2.23 Periodicals
- 2.24 Probate Records
- 2.25 School Records
- 2.26 Social Security Records
- 2.27 Social Security Records
- 2.28 Tax Records
- 2.29 Vital Records
- 3 Research Facilities
- 4 Societies
- 5 Websites
- 6 Research Guides
- 7 References
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named for the Wilson Cary Nicholas. The County is located in the central area of the state.[2]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Nicholas County Courthouse
700 Main Street
Summersville, WV 26651
Phone: 304-872-7820
Nicholas County Website
County Clerk has birth records from 1855, marriage and land records from 1812, death records from 1890, probate records from 1880.
Clerk of the Circuit Court has divorce and court records.[3]
Nicholas County, West Virginia Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1853 | 1812 | 1890 | 1818 | 1812 | 1880 | 1870 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county. |
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating West Virginia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation West Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website. |
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]
| Cities | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
| Census-designated places | ||
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Biographies[edit | edit source]
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1820 | 1,853 | — |
| 1830 | 3,346 | 80.6% |
| 1840 | 2,515 | −24.8% |
| 1850 | 3,963 | 57.6% |
| 1860 | 4,627 | 16.8% |
| 1870 | 4,458 | −3.7% |
| 1880 | 7,223 | 62.0% |
| 1890 | 9,309 | 28.9% |
| 1900 | 11,403 | 22.5% |
| 1910 | 17,699 | 55.2% |
| 1920 | 20,717 | 17.1% |
| 1930 | 20,686 | −0.1% |
| 1940 | 24,070 | 16.4% |
| 1950 | 27,696 | 15.1% |
| 1960 | 25,414 | −8.2% |
| 1970 | 22,552 | −11.3% |
| 1980 | 28,126 | 24.7% |
| 1990 | 26,775 | −4.8% |
| 2000 | 26,562 | −0.8% |
| 2010 | 26,233 | −1.2% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
For tips on accessing Nicholas census records online, see: West Virginia Census.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
- Coberly - Arthaud, John Bradley. "Dr. James Stell Coberly 18th Century Migrant from New Jersey to Virginia and Revolutionary Patriot," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 26, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1982):112-117; Vol. 26, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1982):183-189. Digital version at American Ancestors ($). FHL Book 975.5 B2vg v. 26 (1982).
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See West Virginia Land and Property for additional information about early West Virginia land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Nicholas County, West Virginia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section West Virginia Local Histories.
Nicholas County, West Virginia, USA
Nicholas County, WV, heritage, 2000 Summersville, West Virginia Nicholas County Historical & Genealogical Society, 1998
Bell C. W. The Double Grave: A Chapter in the Early History of Nicholas County. Summersville, West Virginia, Press of the Nicholas Chronicle, 1929. 975.469 B433 Pam.
Bell, Carol Hughes and Hilda Grose. Summersville Pictorial History, 1820-1991. Marceline, Missouri, Heritage House Publishing, 1991. 975.469 B433.
Brown, William Griffee. History of Nicholas County, West Virginia. Richmond, Virginia, Dietz Press, 1954.
975.469 B881.
__________________. History of Nicholas County, West Virginia. Richwood, West Virginia, The News Leader, 1981. 975.469 B881 1981.
Campbell, Edward. "Nicholas County's First Settlers," West Virginia History, Charleston, West Virginia, Department of Archives and History, 1954-55.
Arc 1. 4:16.
Deitz, J. Dennis. Mountain Memories II. Charleston, West Virginia, Jalamap Publications, 1983.
818.54 D325 2.
_____________. Mountain Memories III. Charleston, West Virginia, Jalamap Publications, 1984.
818.54 D325 3.
_____________. Mountain Memories IV. Charleston, West Virginia, Mountain Memories Books, 1985.
818.54 D 325 4.
Groves, James Huling. Life at the Bend. s. l., William Groves Long, 1995.
975.469 G884.
Just For Old Time Sake: A Book From The Past. s. l., Jim Comstock and Bronson McClung, 1949.
Q975.469 C739.
Legg, A. J. A History of Panther Mountain Community (Nicholas County, West Virginia). Morgantown, West Virginia, Agricultural Extension Division, 1930 (On-line version).
Xwv 1. Agr 3. 2: L45.
Leivasy Centennial Committee. Leivasy, West Virginia, Centennial, 1979. s. l., n. p., 1979.
975.469 L533 Pam.
Nicholas County Historical and Genealogical Society. Nicholas County West Virginia Heritage 2000. Summersville, West Virginia, Nicholas County Historical and Genealogical Society, 2000.
975.469 N597 2000.
__________________________________________. Nicholas County West Virginia History, 1985. Summersville, West Virginia, Nicholas County Historical and Genealogical Society Inc., 1985.
975.469 N597.
Nicholas County State Troops, Enrolled and Enlisted Men. s. l., n. p., n. d.
MS 79-229.
Stults, Erma. Only In Memories: Crupperneck: West Virginia: Recollections of Rural America. Murfreesboro, Tennessee, Southern Heritage Press, 1998.
B S934.
Van Bibber, Mathias. Mathias Van Bibber Papers, 1799-1844. s. l., n. p.
MS 80-152.
Webster County Historical Society. Nicholas County, (West) Virginia Records of the Pioneers, 1818-1860. Upper Glade, West Virginia, Webster County Historical Society, Inc., 1985.
929.3 N597w.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
for more resources
- FamilySearch Places:Cities and Towns- How to Use FS Places
- Maps of West Virginia (1617-1995)
- Map of 1850 Virginia and West Virginia
- Nicholas County West Virginia 1895
- Nicholas County, West Virginia Map
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
Revolutionary War[edit | edit source]
- Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." FHL Book 973 M24ur; digital version at Ancestry ($). Includes veterans from this county; Virginia section begins on page 238.
Civil War[edit | edit source]
Regiments. Service men in Nicholas served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Nicholas County:
- - 14th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company L.[7]
- - 22nd Regiment, Virginia Infantry (1st Kanawha Regiment). Company D (Nicholas Blues).[8]
- - 36th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (2nd Kanawha Infantry) (Confederate). Company F (Mountain Riflemen).[9]
Records and histories are available, including:
- West Virginia, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 - How to Use this Collection
- 1861-1865 U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861-1865 U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
Civil War Battle
The following Civil War battles were fought in Nicholas County.
- August 26, 1861 - Kessler's Cross Lanes, also known as Cross Lanes[10]
- September 10, 1861 - Carnifex Ferry[11]
- Map showing Civil War battles in West Virginia.
World War II[edit | edit source]
- 1940-1945 - West Virginia, World War II Draft Registration Cards,1940-1945 at FamilySearch — index and images - How to Use this Collection
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
- 1814-1991 West Virginia Naturalization Records, 1814-1991 at FamilySearch — index and images - How to Use this Collection
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Online Probate Records
- 1724-1978 West Virginia Wills and Probate Records 1724-1978 at Ancestry — index and images $
- 1756-1971 West Virginia Will Books 1756-1971 at FamilySearch — index and images - How to Use this Collection
School Records[edit | edit source]
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
West Virginia real and personal property tax records are managed by the County Assessor in each county. Land and land improvements are considered real property while mobile property is classified as personal property.
Many County Assessors offer an online searchable database, where assessment record searches can be performed by name, account number, year, or mp/parcel number. Where online records are not available, requests for records can be made to the Assessment Office in person, by phone, or in writing.
The search for tax information can start here
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
- West Virginia Vital Records, 1865-1969 (varies) - Includes birth, death, and marriage.
Birth[edit | edit source]
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1780-1970 - West Virginia Marriages, 1780-1970 at FamilySearch — index - How to Use this Collection
- 1801-1962 - West Virginia, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- Nicholas County, West Virginia marriages by Bride and Groom
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1804-1999 - West Virginia Deaths, 1804-1999 at FamilySearch — index - How to Use this Collection
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Nicholas County. For state-wide archival repositories, see West Virginia Archives and Libraries.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Nicholas County. For state-wide library facilities, see West Virginia Archives and Libraries.
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Nicholas County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see West Virginia Societies.
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Nicholas County, WV History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- West Virginia Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- Cyndi's List for West Virginia
- Nicholas County, West Virginia Families
- Southeast Kansas Genealogy Bibliography Nicholas County, West Virginia
- FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), West Virginia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Nicholas County, West Virginia" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nicholas_County,_West_Virginia"
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), West Virginia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Nicholas County, West Virginia. Page 743-746 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 742-743.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), West Virginia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Nicholas County, West Virginia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nicholas_County,_West_Virginia, accessed 13 July 2018.
- ↑ Robert J. Driver, 14th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1988). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 47.
- ↑ Terry D. Lowry, 22nd Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1988). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 44.
- ↑ J.L. Scott, 36th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1987). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 36.
- ↑ Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 20 September 2012)
- ↑ Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 20 September 2012)
