Noord-Brabant, The Netherlands Genealogy
Guide to North Brabant Province ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
|Noord-Brabant Wiki Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
- 1 History
- 2 Background Information
- 3 Jurisdictions
- 4 Research Methods
- 5 Civil Registration (Burgelijke Stand)
- 6 Church Records (DTB)
- 7 Population Registers (Bevolkingregisters)
- 8 Reading the Records
- 9 Tips for Finding Your Ancestor in the Records
- 10 Websites
History[edit | edit source]
In 1815, Belgium and the Netherlands were united in the United Kingdom of the Netherlands, and the province of North Brabant was established. It was named to distinguish it from South Brabant in present-day Belgium. This boundary between the Netherlands and Belgium does not form a contiguous line, but leaves a handful of tiny enclaves on both sides of the border.
When the present province was instituted, its territory was expanded with a part of the province of Holland and the former territory of Ravenstein which had previously belonged to the Duchy of Cleves, as well as several small, formerly autonomous entities.
The period from 1900 until the late 1960s is called the rich Roman life, with Roman meaning Roman Catholic, an era of strong religious belief. In those days every village in North Brabant had a convent from which the nuns operated. Politically, the province was dominated by Catholic parties, which often held around 75% of the vote. The 1960s brought about the gradual dissolution of the Catholic church as church attendance decreased in North Brabant as elsewhere in Western Europe but the province still has a distinct Catholic atmosphere when compared to the provinces north of the major rivers
North Brabant (Wikipedia)
Background Information[edit | edit source]
- For Geographical and Historical information see: Noord-Brabant
- The capital city of Noord-Brabant is 's-Hertogenbosch or Den Bosch. See: 's-Hertogenbosch
Jurisdictions[edit | edit source]
- Municipalities before 1984
- Municipalities after 1984
- Excluded from the province of Noord-Brabant are a few small enclaves in the mid-south of the province, which together are called Baarle-Hertog and Baarle-Nassau and belong to Belgium.
Research Methods[edit | edit source]
Most of your genealogical research for Noord-Brabant will be in three main record types: civil registration, church records and population registers . This article will teach you methods for locating and searching these two record groups.
Civil Registration (Burgelijke Stand)[edit | edit source]
- Civil registration records are government records of births, marriages, and deaths. Access to Netherlands Civil Registration records online is excellent. There is usually no longer any need to use microfilms from the Family History Library, or to visit archives. Nearly all records have survived, since two copies were made of each record and stored separately.
- Dates: Civil registration began 1 March 1811 while under French rule. Law allows birth records up to 1917, marriage records up to 1942 and death records up to 1967 to be released to the public as of 2018. Archives can be up to 10 years behind putting them online.
- Births(Geboorten): Child’s name, birth date and place; parents’ names, ages, residence, and occupation: witnesses’ name, ages, occupations, residences; yearly indexes.
- Marriages(Huwelijken): Bride and groom names, ages, residences, occupations, birth places; date and place of the marriage; parents' names, residences, occupations, whether living; the names of the witnesses, their ages, occupations, residence, and relationship to the bride or groom, if any; and officer who performed ceremony, former spouses, yearly indexes.
- Marriage supplements(Huwelijksbijlagen): Copies of birth or baptism records of bride and groom; military conscription record of groom, containing name, birthdate, and parents, and sometimes a physical description; copies of death or burial records of deceased former spouses; copies of death or burial records of parents, if the marrying person is under 30 (and sometimes if they are over 30); (pre-1850), if both parents are dead, death or burial records of grandparents.
- Death registers(Overlijdens): Deceased's name, age, death date and place, occupation, birth place; name of spouse(s), parents’ names; names of the witnesses, their ages, occupations, residence, and relationship if any.
- To learn more about The Netherlands Civil Registration, read Netherlands Civil Registration.
Online Digital Records for Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Digital copies of civil registration can be searched online:
- WieWasWie, basic version free, index with some images.
- BHIC, the archive for Noord-Brabant
- Netherlands, Noord-Brabant Province, Civil Registration, 1811-1942 at FamilySearch — partial index and images
Writing for Records[edit | edit source]
For records of events that are too recent to be published online, you can write to request records with proper documentation of close relationship. For instructions, see Applying for Recent Civil Registration Records.
Church Records (DTB)[edit | edit source]
- Church records are the main sources for births, marriages and deaths in the Netherlands from about 1550 until 1811, when Civil Registration began.
- Church records may include baptisms (else circumcisions), burials, and sometimes confirmations, membership records and conversions.
- Church records before 1700 do not always exist. Records of baptisms and marriages began in the late 1500s. Records of burials were at first infrequent.
- Church records kept by Catholics, the majority, are written in Latin. Most others are written in Dutch.
- Church records are of three main types:
- Baptisms (Dopen): Child’s name, baptism date, sometimes birth date; parents’ names and residence; witnesses’ names.
- Marriages (Trouwen): Bride and groom names, sometimes ages, residences and/or birthplace, date and place of the wedding; parents' names; the names of the witnesses and relationship to the bride or groom, if any; former spouses.
- Burials (Begraven): Deceased person's name, death date and place, name of spouse(s).
- To learn more about church records, see Netherlands Church Records.
Online Digital Records for Church Records[edit | edit source]
- Netherlands, Noord-Brabant, Church Records, 1473-1965, free, browsable images.
- Use Genealogie Werkbalk to find the correct set of images on FamilySearch.
- Van Papier Naar Digitaal has images, indexes and transcriptions.
Population Registers (Bevolkingregisters)[edit | edit source]
See Netherlands Population for further information.
From 1850 onwards the Government has recorded the address and basic details such as name, birthdate, birthplace, occupation and religion of all residents of the Netherlands.
- From 1850-1940 these are on paper and public.
- From 1940-1994 these are on paper and can be viewed on request (see below)
- From 1994-present these are in digital format and can be viewed on request (see below)
Accessing Population Registers[edit | edit source]
- From 1850-1940
- OpenArch and Netherlands, Archival Indexes, Population Registers at FamilySearch, free, index and images.
- In the FamilySearch Catalog under Noord-Brabant. Search by municipality after clicking on "Places in Noord-Brabant"
- From 1940 onwards. The records are only public if the person has been deceased for about two years. You must contact the Central Bureau for Genealogy, fill in an application form and pay the fee as explained on their website. Email it to email@example.com . If the record is found, it will also contain details about the main person's parents, spouse and children. Some information may be blanked out in the case of people deceased relatively recently.
Reading the Records[edit | edit source]
- Records are most commonly written in Dutch or Latin. You do not have to be fluent these languages to read your documents! Genealogical records usually contain a limited vocabulary. Use this Dutch Genealogical Word List to translate the important points in the document.
- Beginner Dutch Handwriting - 18 video lessons
- Reading Dutch Birth Records - handout
- Reading Dutch Marriage Records - handout
- Reading Dutch Death Records - handout
Tips for Finding Your Ancestor in the Records[edit | edit source]
- Effective use of civil registration and church records includes the following strategies:
- Identify your ancestor by finding his birth or christening record.
- When you find an ancestor’s birth or baptismal record, search for the births of siblings.
- Search for the parents’ marriage record. Typically, the marriage took place one or two years before the oldest child was born.
- Search for the parents' birth records. On the average, people married in their early 20s, so subtact 25 or so years from the marriage date for a starting year to search for the parents' birth records.
- Search the death registers for all family members.
- If you do not find earlier generations in the parish registers, search neighboring parishes.
- Marriages were usually performed and recorded where the bride lived.
- Do not overlook the importance of death records. Death records are especially helpful because they may provide important information about a person’s birth, spouse, and parents. Civil death records often exist for individuals for whom there are no birth or marriage records.
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Netherlands, Archival Indexes, Miscellaneous Records at FamilySearch — index
- Brabants Historisch Informatie Centrum
- Land van Heusden en Altena