Nordreisa Parish, Troms, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Nordreisa, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Nordreisa Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/
Diocese
add here
Prosti add here
Len 1599-1660 Nordlandene
Amt 1689-1919 1660-1789: Nordlandene, 1789-1866: Finmmarken, 1866-1919: Tromsø
Fylke 1919-Present Troms
Region add here
Prestegjeld Skjervøy
Kommune add here
Skifteretten add here
Tinglag Skjervøy
Fogderi Senja og Tromsø
Sorenskriveri Lyngen
Skipreide add here


Church Records[edit | edit source]

Nordreisa is a parish in Skjervøy clerical district. Records begin in 1748.

Parish heading list shows the Norwegian headings on the parish records with an English translations for each of the different forms used throughout the records beginning in 1814. Prior to that time the records were kept in a journal format which varies with each parish.

Digital images of the church books are online at Digitalarkivet.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

  • 1801, 1865, 1875 see Skjervøy clerical district.
  • The 1891 census for Nordreisa (Troms) is available online at Digitalarkivet

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

1690-1866 Tromsø judicial district.

1776-1809 Troms County judicial district.

1697-1824 Troms and Senja deanery.

Farm Books[edit | edit source]

  • Nordreisa bygdebok by Emil Hanssen. A history of Nordreisa in Skjervøy clerical district in Troms county with some genealogy. Text in Norwegian.

This book is now on the internet and can be downloaded into a PDF file. Nordreisa bygdebok.

Farm Names[edit | edit source]

19 Andsjøen, 35 Annabakelven,

44 Baatnes, 50 Bakkeby indre, 23 Baskabut,

45 Elvenes, 42 Elvevold,

10 Flatvolden, 17 Forsnes,

21 Hysingjorden,

38 Kildal, 39 Kildal øvre, 11 Kippernes, 25 Kjelderen, 36 Kraaknes, 4 Kvennes, 40 Kvænelven,

46 Leirbugten, 8 Loppevolden, 52 Lunde, 15 Lyngsmarken,

34 Martinusli, 24 Moskodalen, 9 Myren, 13 Mælen,

43 Navaren, 5 Nordkjosbotn, 6 Nordkjoseidet, 33 Nyelvholmen,

14 Olderskogen,

26 Pokta,

49 Ravelseidbotn, 22 Røielselv,

41 Sagelven, 37 Samuelelven, 30 Sappen, 20 Snemyren, 48 Sokkelvik, 1 Stornes, 3 Storvik indre, 47 Sørkjosen,

16 Tomasjorden, 7 Trætten, 18 Tømmernes, 32 Tørfornes,

12 Veibakken, 28 Vinnelys

Nordreisa Bygdebok: Annebakkelv, Ansjøen, Bakkeby, Bergbukt, Bergskog, Bjørkenes, Bukten, Båtnes, Elvevoll, Flatvoll, Fosnes, Hallen, Heggenes, Holmbo, Holmestilla, Hysingjord, Kildal, Kippernes, Kjelleren, Krakenes, Kvernelv, Kvænes, Lerbukt, Lien, Liland, Loppevoll, Lunde, Lyngsmark, Marjastilla, Martinusli, Melen, Mosesh., Moskodal, Myrvang, Naveren, Nordkjosbotten, Nordkjoseidet, Nyelvholm, Olderskogen, Paskabut, Pilttu, Potka, Puntta, Punttastilla, Ravelseidbakken, Røyelbukta, Røyelen, Sagelv, Samuelelv, Sappen, Saraelv, Snemyr, Sokkelvik, Stornes, Storslett, Storvik, Svartfoss, Sørkjosen, Thomasjord, Tretten, Tømmernes, Tørfos, Veibakken, Vinnelys, Vollstad

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names

-Hansen, Emil: Nordreisa Bygdebok. Utgitt med bidrag av Nordreisa Kommune 19(??)