North Clifton, Nottinghamshire Genealogy
Guide to North Clifton, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
|North Clifton, Nottinghamshire|
Clifton St+George+the+Martyr Nottinghamshire
|County||Nottinghamshire, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Newark|
|Parish registers: 1539|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1600|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
CLIFTON, NORTH (St. George), a parish, in the union, and N. division of the wapentake, of Newark, S. division of the county of Nottingham, 12 miles (N. by E.) from Newark; containing, with the township of South Clifton, the chapelry of Harby, and the hamlet of Spalford. There is a chapel of ease at Harby, where also in South Clifton, are places of worship for Wesleyans.
North Clifton St George the Martyr is an Ancient parish which included in its boundaries Harby, Spalford, and South Clifton. Part of the parish boundary forms the county boundary with Newton on Trent, Lincolnshire Genealogy
The church of St George the Martyr North Clifton is 13th century in origin and has been designated a grade II* listed building by English Heritage. British listed building
From this parish was formed:
Harby All Saints with Swinethorpe in 1875. Harby with Swinethorpe All Saints has been researched by the Southwell and Nottingham Church History project Harby with Swinethorpe All Saints
The church of Harby All Saints has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed bulding
See also Harby Nottinghamshire Wikipedia
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
This parish was from 1837 within Newark registration district
Certificates can be obtained from:
The Register Office
Church records[edit | edit source]
North Clifton, Nottinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|NORTH CLIFTON PARISH Online Records|
Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives North Clifton St George the Martyr Baptisms 1614-1902 Marriages 1654-1901 Burials 1539-1901 Bishop's transcripts 1600-1846
Harby All Saints with Swinethorpe Baptisms 1867-1901 Marriages 1867-1901 Burials 1868-1901
Nottinghamshire County Council
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Clifton, North
Harby Chapel of Ease registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Harby Chapel of Ease Online Records|
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Adapted, date accessed: 08 December 2013.
- 'Nottinghamshire baptisms 1538-1980,' 'Nottinghamshire marriages 1528-1929,' 'Nottinghamshire burials 1539-1905,' findmypast, accessed 12 January 2015.
- Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes.