To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

North Cray, Kent Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to North Cray, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


North Cray, Kent
North Cray St James Kent.jpg
North Cray St James Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ruxley
County Kent
Poor Law Union Bromley
Registration District Bromley
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1718
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dartford
Diocese Pre-1845 - Rochester; Post-1844 - Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1845 - Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Rochester; Post-1844 - Prerogative Court of the Archbishop of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

CRAY, NORTH (St. James), a parish, in the union of Bromley, hundred of Ruxley, lathe of Sutton-at-Hone, W division of Kent, 1 mile N by E from Foots Cray. [1]

North Cray is a place in the London Borough of Bexley which was previously a civil parish see North Cray Wikipedia for further history.

North Cray St James is an Ancient Parish which united with the ancient parish of Ruxley in 1557.

The Parish Church of St James North Cray Road has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building

See Edward Hasted, The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 2 (1797), pp. 141-162 at British History Online and Kent Churches website

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

See Bromley Registration district

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

North Cray parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers (FamilySearch) - free[4]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[5]
KOPC = Kent Online Parish Clerks - free[6]
North Cray Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1880-1881


FS BTs 1718-1721, 1744, 1806-1903 1718-1721, 1744, 1806-1903 1718-1721, 1744, 1806-1903
FS PRs 1538-1880 1538-1881; 1755-1783 (banns) 1538-1881
IGI 1538-1875 1538-1881
KOPC 1813-1881
1813-1881
1813-1880

Bexley Local Studies and Archive Centre is the Diocesan Record Office for all the Church of England Parishes within the London Borough of Bexley. Reference PA102 St James', North Cray 1538-1992

Land Tax[edit | edit source]

Images for North Cray are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments - FamilySearch Historical Records 1780-1831

Images are derived from Kent Archives 1987 microfilm

Land tax assessments for North Cray, 1780-1831 Family History Library BRITISH Film 1469937 Item 1

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census returns for North Cray 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable).

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Local Family History Centre[edit | edit source]

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Bromley Poor Law Union

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 717-720. Date Accessed: 22 July 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 7 November 2013.
  3. 'England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 11 November 2013.
  4. 'England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 13 November 2013.
  5. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 13 November 2013.
  6. Kent Online Parish Clerks, accessed 20 November 2013.

FamilySearch

To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.